Xavier University - Ateneo De Cagayan

Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan is a private, Roman Catholic university run by the Society of Jesus in Cagayan de Oro, Philippines.

It was founded on June 7, 1933 as the Ateneo de Cagayan by an American Jesuit missionary, Fr. James T.G. Hayes, S.J., who later became the first Bishop and Archbishop of Cagayan de Oro. In 1958, Ateneo de Cagayan became a university and was renamed to its present name, Xavier University, in honor of the Jesuit missionary, St. Francis Xavier.

Read more about this topic:  Xavier University

Other articles related to "cagayan":

Roman Catholic Archdiocese Of Cagayan De Oro - History
... Thus from 1910 Cagayan de Oro City became part of the Diocese of Zamboanga ... January 20, 1933, Pope Pius XI created a second diocese in Mindanao, that of Cagayan de Oro City, separating it from Zamboanga City and giving it jurisdiction over the then Provinces of ... In 1939, the Diocese of Cagayan de Oro was divided again with the creation of the Diocese of Surigao comprising the Provinces of Surigao and Agusan and in 1951 was divided again with the creation of the Diocese of ...