Vancouver Canucks

The Vancouver Canucks are a professional ice hockey team based in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. They are members of the Northwest Division of the Western Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The Canucks play their home games at Rogers Arena, formerly known as General Motors Place, which has a capacity of 18,860. Mike Gillis is the team's president and general manager, Alain Vigneault is the coach and they are captained by centre Henrik Sedin. They won the Campbell Bowl as Western Conference playoff champions in 2011 and have won the Presidents' Trophy, having recorded the best regular season record in the NHL for the past two seasons (2010–11 and 2011–12).

The Canucks joined the league in 1970 as an expansion team along with the Buffalo Sabres. In its NHL history, the team has advanced to the Stanley Cup Finals three times, losing to the New York Islanders in 1982, the New York Rangers in 1994 and the Boston Bruins in 2011. The Canucks have won the Presidents' Trophy in back-to-back seasons as the team with the league's best regular season record in the 2010–11 and 2011–2012 seasons. They won three division titles as a member of the Smythe Division from 1974 to 1993, and six titles as a member of the Northwest Division from 2003 to 2012.

The Canucks have retired three players' jerseys in their history — Stan Smyl (12), Trevor Linden (16), and Markus Naslund (19), all of whom served as team captains and held the all-time team point-scoring lead at the end of their respective careers.

Read more about Vancouver CanucksHockey Background in Vancouver, Season-by-season Record, Head Coaches, Franchise Individual Records

Other articles related to "vancouver, vancouver canucks, canucks":

List Of Ice Hockey Arenas By Capacity - Arenas By Capacity
... United States New Jersey Devils (NHL) (1982–2007) 11 Rogers Arena 18,890 Vancouver Canada Vancouver Canucks 12 Air Canada Centre 18,819 Toronto Canada Toronto ... Toronto Toros (WHA) (1974–1976) 41 Pacific Coliseum 16,281 Vancouver Canada Vancouver Canucks (WHL) (1968–1970), Vancouver Canucks (NHL) (1970–1995), Vancouver Nats (WHL) (1971–1973 ...
List Of Team Payrolls In The NHL - Western Conference - Northwest Division - Vancouver Canucks
... These are the salaries for the Vancouver Canucks ... Year Team payroll % change Median salary Top paid player(s) Highest salary 1998–99 $28,200,000 1999–2000 $34,000,000 20.57% 2000–01 $24,703,750 -27.34% $887,500 Andrew Cassels $3,050,000 2001–02 $29,984,579 21.38% $900,000 Trevor Linden Markus Naslund $4,000,000 2002–03 $34,075,000 13.64% $1,025,000 Trevor Linden $4,800,000 2003–04 $42,074,500 23.48% $1,113,750 Todd Bertuzzi $6,800,000 2005–06 $43,711,344 3.89% $941,411 Markus Naslund $6,000,000 2006–07 $42,877,000 -1.91% $900,000 Roberto Luongo Markus Naslund $6,000,000 2007–08 $45,710,000 6.61% $1,100,000 Roberto Luongo $6,500,000 ...
Mc Farlane Sports Picks - Complete List of Hockey Figures - NHL Hockey Series 10-18
... Sharks Surprise Figure Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks Surprise Figure Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks - The Sedin figures are insert figures that never made an appearance in any of the original lineups so they ... North America-wide releases Markus Naslund (2), Vancouver Canucks Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings Marian Hossa, Atlanta Thrashers Canada-only ... Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks Darcy Tucker, Toronto Maple Leafs Eric Staal, Carolina Hurricanes Series 16 (2007) Sidney Crosby (2), Pittsburgh Penguins Jaromir Jagr (3 ...
Phil Maloney
... Maloney also played for the Vancouver Canucks in the Western Hockey League ... He retired at the end of the 1969-70 season, the year before the Canucks became a part of the NHL, and was the career scoring leader for the franchise with 923 points ... Preceded by Bill McCreary Head coach of the Vancouver Canucks 1974-77 Succeeded by Orland Kurtenbach Preceded by Hal Laycoe General Manager of the Vancouver Canucks 1974-76 ...