Suffragan Bishop

A suffragan bishop is a bishop subordinate to a metropolitan bishop or diocesan bishop. They may be assigned to an area which does not have a cathedral of its own.

Read more about Suffragan Bishop:  Anglican Communion, Roman Catholic Church

Other articles related to "suffragan bishop, suffragan bishops, suffragan, bishop, suffragans, bishops":

Suffragan Bishops Act 1534 - Provisions - Section 4
... does not invalidate any commission given to a suffragan bishop which was in force immediately before the commencement of that Measure (s ... commissions to continue in force until the date on which the suffragan bishop to whom the commission was given ceases to hold that office, or the date on which the commission is revoked by the ... So long as any such commission remains in force so much of section 2 of the Suffragan Bishops Act 1534 as is repealed by 15(2)(b) of that Measure continues, notwithstanding the repeal, to ...
Suffragan Bishop In Europe
... The Suffragan Bishop in Europe is an episcopal title used by a suffragan bishop of the Church of England Diocese in Europe (in the Province of Canterbury.) The suffragan bishop ...
Suffragan Bishop - Roman Catholic Church
... In the Roman Catholic Church, a suffragan is a bishop who heads a diocese ... His suffragan diocese, however, is part of a larger ecclesiastical province, nominally led by a metropolitan archbishop ... The distinction between metropolitans and suffragans is of limited practical importance ...
Catholic Bishops - Additional Titles and Roles - Suffragan Bishop
... A suffragan bishop leads a diocese within an ecclesiastical province other than the principal diocese, the metropolitan archdiocese ...
Anglican Network In Canada - Leadership
... ANiC bishops The Rt ... Don Harvey Moderator Bishop The Rt ... Stephen Leung (Suffragan bishop, Asian ministry) Vancouver, British Columbia The Rt ...

Famous quotes containing the word bishop:

    The frowsy sponge boats keep coming in
    with the obliging air of retrievers,
    —Elizabeth Bishop (1911–1979)