Oireachtas of The Irish Free State - Seanad Éireann

Seanad Éireann

The Seanad Éireann (; English: Senate of Ireland) was the upper house of the Oireachtas of the Irish Free State from 1922 until 1936. It is sometimes referred to as the 'First Seanad'. The Seanad was established under the 1922 Constitution of the Irish Free State but a number of constitutional amendments were subsequently made to change the manner of its election and it powers. It was abolished in 1936 when it attempted to obstruct constitutional reforms favoured by the government. It sat in Leinster House.

Read more about this topic:  Oireachtas Of The Irish Free State

Other related articles:

Peadar Toner Mac Fhionnlaoich - Seanad Éireann
... Cú Uladh was a member of Seanad Éireann from 1938–1942 when he was nominated by Taoiseach Éamon de Valera ...