County Borough

County borough is a term introduced in 1889 in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland (excluding Scotland), to refer to a borough or a city independent of county council control. They were abolished by the Local Government Act 1972 in England and Wales, but continue in use for lieutenancy and shrievalty in Northern Ireland. In the Republic of Ireland they remain in existence but have been renamed cities under the provisions of the Local Government Act 2001. The Local Government (Wales) Act 1994 re-introduced the term for certain "principal areas" in Wales. Scotland did not have county boroughs but instead counties of cities. These were abolished on 16 May 1975. All four Scottish cities of the time — Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, and Glasgow — were included in this category. There was an additional category of large burgh in the Scottish system, which were responsible for all services apart from police, education and fire.

Read more about County BoroughNorthern Ireland, Republic of Ireland

Other articles related to "county, county borough, county boroughs, borough":

Local Government Commission For Wales - Membership and Terms of Reference
... or in combination The alteration of the area of an administrative county or county borough (including the abolition of any county district in the course of the ...
County Borough - Republic of Ireland
... The Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898 created county boroughs in Ireland ... (Cork, Dublin, Limerick and Waterford) became county boroughs ... Galway became a county borough in 1986 ...
Local Government Boundary Commission (1945–1949) - Work of The Commission - Second Report - Two-tier Counties
... The commission felt that in order to provide effective local government a county must have a population of more than 200,000 and less than a million ... b) Lancaster South West and Cheshire North West) Cornwall (unchanged) Cumberland (with Carlisle county borough) Derbyshire Devon (with Exeter county borough) Dorset (with Bournemouth county borough) Durham (with ... Hertfordshire (unchanged) Isle of Wight (unchanged) Kent (with Canterbury county borough) Lancaster Central (including Blackpool, Blackburn, Burnley, Preston and Southport ...
County Borough Of Bolton - History
... Bolton was created a free borough in 1253 when William de Ferrers, 5th Earl of Derby granted a charter ... However the borough did not develop into a self-governing town, remaining under the control of officials appointed by the lord of the manor ... Tonge with Haulgh township, were incorporated as a municipal borough, making it the second to be created in England (after Devonport) ...
County Borough Of Bury
... dated 9 September 1876 created the town a municipal borough and it was further extended in 1885 ... Act 1888 Bury was constituted a county borough ... This meant that that it was independent of Lancashire County Council, exercising both the powers of a borough and county council ...

Famous quotes containing the word county:

    It would astonish if not amuse, the older citizens of your County who twelve years ago knew me a stranger, friendless, uneducated, penniless boy, working on a flat boat—at ten dollars per month to learn that I have been put down here as the candidate of pride, wealth, and aristocratic family distinction.
    Abraham Lincoln (1809–1865)