Austrian Grand Prix

The Austrian Grand Prix (German: Grand Prix von Österreich) was a Formula One race.

The first event, in 1964, was held at a race track on the Zeltweg Airfield. The race was a success, but the track was deemed too dangerous; it was narrow and very bumpy, and spectators complained of poor viewing areas. The FIA removed the race from the F1 calendar until a suitable track was built.

From 1970 until 1987, the event was held at the Österreichring (also located near Zeltweg). It was designated the European Grand Prix once, 1975, when this title was an honorary designation given each year to one grand prix race in Europe. The track was popular with drivers. These events were moderately successful, but in 1987, this track was also deemed too dangerous by FIA standards, because of the amount of high-speed corners, lack of protection from trees and embankments and accidents at the start of many races at the narrow pit straight; whereupon the event disappeared for a decade.

In 1995 and 1996, the track was refurbished and brought up to date, which allowed the race to run again in 1997. Since the larger portion of the modernized track, which was renamed A1-Ring after a sponsor, is located on the municipal territory of Spielberg, Spielberg was now given as the site of the Grand Prix. It was a mainstay on the calendar until hosting its final race in 2003.

The 2002 Austrian Grand Prix received negative publicity after Ferrari instructed Rubens Barrichello to cede his victory to Michael Schumacher.

Read more about Austrian Grand PrixRecords

Other articles related to "austrian grand prix, grand prix, austrian":

1980 Austrian Grand Prix - Standings After The Race
36 4 Renault 5 ... Arrows-Ford 11 Previous race 1980 German Grand Prix FIA Formula One World Championship 1980 season Next race 1980 Dutch Grand Prix Previous ...
Austrian Grand Prix (disambiguation)
... Austrian Grand Prix can refer to Austrian Grand Prix, a Formula One motor race Austrian motorcycle Grand Prix Speedway Grand Prix of Austria ...
List Of Formula One Grand Prix Winners (constructors) - By Constructor
... win Last win Notes 1 ITA Ferrari 219 1950– 1951 British Grand Prix 2012 German Grand Prix 2 GBR McLaren 182 1966– 1968 Belgian Grand Prix 2012 ...

Famous quotes containing the words austrian and/or grand:

    The war shook down the Tsardom, an unspeakable abomination, and made an end of the new German Empire and the old Apostolic Austrian one. It ... gave votes and seats in Parliament to women.... But if society can be reformed only by the accidental results of horrible catastrophes ... what hope is there for mankind in them? The war was a horror and everybody is the worse for it.
    George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)

    Democracy is the menopause of Western society, the Grand Climacteric of the body social. Fascism is its middle-aged lust.
    Jean Baudrillard (b. 1929)