Viscount Tenby

Viscount Tenby, of Bulford in the County of Pembroke, is a title in the Peerage of the United Kingdom. It was created in 1957 for the former Home Secretary, the Hon. Gwilym Lloyd George. He was the second son of Prime Minister David Lloyd George, 1st Earl Lloyd-George of Dwyfor. As of 2010 the title is held by his younger son, the third Viscount, who succeeded his elder brother in 1983. Lord Tenby is one of the ninety elected hereditary peers that remain in the House of Lords after the passing of the House of Lords Act 1999, and sits as a cross-bencher. As a grandson of the first Earl Lloyd-George of Dwyfor he is also in remainder to this peerage and its subsidiary title the viscountcy of Gwynedd.

Read more about Viscount TenbyViscounts Tenby (1957)

Other articles related to "viscount tenby, tenby":

Viscount Tenby - Viscounts Tenby (1957)
... Gwilym Lloyd George, 1st Viscount Tenby (1894–1967) David Lloyd George, 2nd Viscount Tenby (1922–1983) William Lloyd George, 3rd Viscount Tenby (b ...
William Lloyd George, 3rd Viscount Tenby
... William Lloyd George, 3rd Viscount Tenby (born 7 November 1927) is a British peer, soldier and JP ... Lord Tenby is the son of Gwilym Lloyd George, 1st Viscount Tenby, and Edna Gwenfrom Jones ... The 3rd) Lord Tenby's paternal grandfather was David Lloyd George (later The Earl Lloyd-George of Dwyfor), the British Liberal Prime Minister 1916–1922, who also served as Chancellor of the Exchequer 1908–1915 ...

Famous quotes containing the word viscount:

    When it is not necessary to change, it is necessary not to change.
    Lucius Cary Falkland, 2nd Viscount (1610–1643)