Backlash (2008)


Backlash (2008) was the tenth annual Backlash professional wrestling pay-per-view event produced by World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE). It took place on April 27, 2008 at the 1st Mariner Arena in Baltimore, Maryland. The event starred wrestlers from the Raw, SmackDown, and ECW brands.

Eight professional wrestling matches were scheduled on the event's card, which featured a supercard, a scheduling of more than one main event. The first was a Fatal Four-Way Elimination for the WWE Championship match featuring wrestlers from the Raw brand, in which all four men fought in the ring at the same time, with competitors being eliminated by pinfall or submission. Triple H defeated WWE Champion Randy Orton, John Cena, and John "Bradshaw" Layfield to win the championship. The other main event featured wrestlers from the SmackDown brand, in which defending World Heavyweight Champion The Undertaker defeated challenger Edge in a standard wrestling match, also known as a singles match. The main event from the ECW brand was a standard match in which defending ECW Champion Kane defeated challenger Chavo Guerrero. In addition, a featured bout was scheduled on the undercard, in which Shawn Michaels defeated Batista in a standard match.

Backlash (2008) had an attendance of approximately 11,277 and received 200,000 buys, more than the previous year's event. When the event was released on DVD, it reached a peak position of second on Billboard's Recreational Sports DVD Sales Chart.

Read more about Backlash (2008):  Background, Event, Aftermath, Results