AFC Champions League

The AFC Champions League is the premier Asian club football competition hosted annually by Asian Football Confederation (AFC). The tournament is contested among the top thirty-two clubs from the top 10 Asian leagues, two of which must qualify through the playoffs. The champions receive about US$2.25 million in prize money (specific amount depends on record from the group stage) and a spot in the FIFA Club World Cup at the end of the year.

Starting 2009 season, the defending champion no longer receives an automatic berth, forcing them to qualify through their respective domestic league or cup competitions. However, the 2008 champions, Gamba Osaka, and the 2009 champions, Pohang Steelers, both managed to qualify for the following season. In the 2010 edition though, the defending champions, Seongnam Ilhwa Chunma became the first club to fail to secure a spot in the following year's Champions League.

The qualifying round starts in late February and the single-match final takes place in early November at a neutral venue. During the World Cup years, the qualifying rounds tends to start bit earlier.

Pohang Steelers is currently the most successful club in the competition's history, having won their third title in 2009. League-wise, the Korean K-League has 10 titles and is the most successful league competition followed by the Japanese J. League which has 5 previous winners. From 2006 to 2012, The East Asian sides experienced a period of dominance with K-League clubs winning 4 titles (2006, 2009, 2010, 2012) and J.League with 2 titles (2007, 2008).

Read more about AFC Champions LeagueParticipating Associations, Top Scorers, Fair Play Award

Other articles related to "afc champions league, afc, champion, league, champions":

Thai Premier League - Competition Format and Sponsorship - Competition - Qualification For Asian Competitions
... also Thai clubs in the Asian Club Championship, Thai clubs in the AFC Champions League, and Thai clubs in the AFC Cup In the past The Champion will play in AFC Champions League Playoffs and AFC Cup ... Due to reforms from the AFC for the AFC Champions League and AFC Cup format, there will be no more a direct qualification spot for the AFC Champions League for the Thai Champion, for the time being..From 2012 Thai ...
South Korean Football League System - Cup Eligibility - Continental Competition
... At present, four South Korean sides qualify automatically for the AFC Champions League ... The K-League champion automatically gains entry to the AFC Champions League along with the A3 Champions Cup ... second, third club also gains entry to the AFC Champions League ...
Chinese Clubs In The AFC Champions League - Notes and References
... L = Matches lost GF = Goals for GA = Goals against GD = Goal difference Pts = Points AFC Champions League official website AFC Champions League on RSSSF Football in China Chinese ...
Lists Of Tennis Players
... Slam championship List of Australian Open champions List of French Open champions List of Wimbledon champions List of U.S ... Open champions ...

Famous quotes containing the words league and/or champions:

    He will deliver you from six troubles; in seven no harm shall touch you. In famine he will redeem you from death, and in war from the power of the sword. You shall be hidden from the scourge of the tongue, and shall not fear destruction when it comes. At destruction and famine you shall laugh, and shall not fear the wild animals of the earth. For you shall be in league with the stones of the field, and the wild animals shall be at peace with you.
    Bible: Hebrew, Job 5:19-23.

    Myths and legends die hard in America. We love them for the extra dimension they provide, the illusion of near-infinite possibility to erase the narrow confines of most men’s reality. Weird heroes and mould-breaking champions exist as living proof to those who need it that the tyranny of “the rat race” is not yet final.
    Hunter S. Thompson (b. 1939)