WTA Premier Tournaments

WTA Premier Tournaments

Premier Tournaments is a category of tennis tournaments in the Women's Tennis Association tour, implemented since the reorganization of the schedule in 2009.

As of 2012, Premier events include:

  • Four "Premier Mandatory" events in Indian Wells, Key Biscayne, Madrid, and Beijing with prize money of $4.5 million.
  • Five "Premier 5" events in Dubai/Doha, Rome, Cincinnati, Toronto/Montreal, and Tokyo with prize money of $2 million.
  • Twelve "Premier" events with prize money of $600,000 to $1,000,000.
  • Season-ending WTA Tour Championships, with a prize money of $4.45 million

The ranking points awarded to the winners of these tournaments are: Premier Mandatory 1000; Premier 5 900; Premier 470; WTA Tour Championships, up to 1,500 depending on number of round-robin matches won. This compares to 2,000 points for winning a Grand Slam and 280 for winning an International tournament. This system differs from that used for the men's ATP rankings, but only slightly. The men have nine Masters events with 1,000 points for the winner (akin to WTA Premier Mandatory and Premier 5 tournaments), and the next two tiers of ATP tournaments offer 500 and 250 points for winning respectively.

Read more about WTA Premier TournamentsEvents, Statistical Information, See Also

Other articles related to "premiers, premier, wta premier tournaments, tournament":

Frederick W. A. G. Haultain - Northwest Territories Politics - Premier
... As premier, Haultain led negotiations for the granting of provincial status ... Haultain argued for these territories to be admitted as a single province named Buffalo, and wanted the new province to be governed by non-partisan governments ...
Premier - By Jurisdiction
... Premiers of the Australian states Premier of Bermuda Premier of the British Virgin Islands Premiers of Canada Chancellor of China List of premiers ...
2009 In Tennis - Sony Ericsson WTA Tour - WTA Premier Tournaments
... Tournament Singles Winner Runner-up Score Doubles Winners Runners-up Score Sydney E Dementieva D Safina 6–3, 2–6, 6–1 Hsieh/ Peng Dechy/ Dellacqua 6–0, 6–1 Paris A Mauresmo E Dementieva 7–6(7), 2–6 ...
Frederick Carter
... Newfoundland, died March 1, 1900) was a lawyer and Premier of Newfoundland from 1865 to 1870 ... In 1865 he succeeded Sir Hugh Hoyles as Premier ... Carter became Premier a second time in 1874 but had dropped the issue of joining Canada ...
Frank Miller (politician) - Premier - Minority Government and Defeat
... Miller formally resigned as Premier on June 26, 1985 ending 42 years of Progressive Conservative rule over Ontario ...