Toronto Arenas

The Toronto Arenas, Toronto Blueshirts or Torontos was a professional men's ice hockey team that played in the first two seasons of the National Hockey League (NHL). It was operated by the owner of the Arena Gardens, the Toronto Arena Company. As the ownership of the National Hockey Association (NHA) Toronto Blueshirts franchise was in dispute, the new NHL league was started, and a temporary Toronto franchise was operated. The NHL itself was intended to only be a one-year entity until the NHA could be reactivated, although it never was.

For the first season, 1917–18, the team operated without a formal organization separate from the Arena Company. and without an official club nickname. However, the press would dub the team the "Blue Shirts" or "Torontos" as they had done with the NHA franchise. After the 1918-1919 season, the Arena Company was granted a permanent franchise in the NHL, which evolved into today's Toronto Maple Leafs.

Read more about Toronto Arenas:  Notable Players, Coaches

Other articles related to "toronto arenas, toronto, toronto arena":

1918–19 Toronto Arenas Season - Regular Season - Game Log - Second Half
... Date Visitor Score Home Record Pts 1 January 28 Ottawa Senators 2–1 Toronto Arenas 0–1–0 2 ... February 1 Toronto Arenas 0–10 Montreal Canadiens 0–2–0 ...
1917–18 Toronto Hockey Club Season - Team Business
... A series of disputes in the NHA with Toronto Blueshirts owner Eddie Livingstone led the owners of the four non-Toronto teams to resign from the NHA and create the NHL for the 1917-18 season ... The owners turned down a proposal from the management of the Toronto Arena Company to create a new Toronto-based franchise to join the other former NHA teams in a five team NHL ... to ice a team for the NHL's first season, the NHL granted a temporary franchise to the Toronto Arena Company, maintaining a balanced four team league ...
Charles Querrie - Coaching Record
29 4 ... - (35) 5th in Canadian (resigned) Preceded by Toronto Arena Company Principal owner, Toronto Maple Leafs 1919–1927 Succeeded by Conn Smythe Preceded by Position ... Succeeded by Conn Smythe Preceded by George O'Donoghue Eddie Powers Head coach of the Toronto St ... Patricks 1922-24 1926-27 Succeeded by Eddie Powers Mike Rodden Toronto Maple Leafs head coaches Toronto Arenas D ...