Soe Win

General Soe Win (Burmese: စိုးဝင်း; ; 10 May 1947 – 12 October 2007) was the Prime Minister of Burma and Secretary-1 of the State Peace and Development Council from 2004 to 2007. He was known by Burmese dissident groups as "the butcher of Depayin" for his role as mastermind of the 2003 Depayin Massacre, in which 70 National League for Democracy supporters were killed by a government-sponsored mob.

Read more about Soe Win:  Decorations and Medals

Other articles related to "soe win, win":

Soe Win - Decorations and Medals
... Naingngandaw Sit-Hmu-Dan Tazeit Pyithusit Taik Pwe Win Tazeit Naingngandaw Ayegyantharyaye Tazeit Mong Yang Methawaw Taik Pwe Tazeit Tatmadaw Gonzaung Ahmu-Dan Tazeit (First Grade) Tatmadaw Gonzaung ...
Thein Sein - Prime Minister
... junta as interim prime minister, replacing Soe Win, who was undergoing medical treatment for leukemia ... Thein Sein was formally appointed as Soe Win's permanent successor on 24 October 2007 after Soe Win's death on 12 October 2007 ...

Famous quotes containing the word win:

    To become a token woman—whether you win the Nobel Prize or merely get tenure at the cost of denying your sisters—is to become something less than a man ... since men are loyal at least to their own world-view, their laws of brotherhood and self-interest.
    Adrienne Rich (b. 1929)