Saga City

Saga City

Saga (佐賀市, Saga-shi?) is the capital of Saga Prefecture, located on the island of Kyūshū, Japan.

Saga was the capital of Saga Domain in the Edo period, and largest city of former Hizen Province.

On October 1, 2005, the city expanded through merger with the neighboring towns of Morodomi, Yamato and Fuji (all from Saga District) and the village of Mitsuse from Kanzaki District to form the new city of Saga. With this creation, the city now neighbors the city of Fukuoka in Fukuoka Prefecture. On October 1, 2007 the towns of Higashiyoka, Kawasoe, and Kubota were also incorporated into Saga, further expanding its borders. Although Saga is the capital of Saga Prefecture, it can also be said to be within the Greater Fukuoka metropolitan area, and by extension, Fukuoka-Kitakyushu Metropolitan Area.

Read more about Saga CityGeography, Attractions, Famous People From Saga, Sister Cities

Famous quotes containing the word city:

    Jews do not like the country, yes thank you, christians donot all like the city. Yes and thank you. There are no differences between the city and the country and very likely every one can be daily daily and by that timely.
    Gertrude Stein (1874–1946)