Orpheus (Liszt)

Orpheus (Liszt)

Franz Liszt composed his Orpheus in 1853-4, numbering it No. 4 in his cycle of 12 symphonic poems written during his time in Weimar, Germany. It was first performed on February 16, 1854, conducted by the composer, as an introduction to the first Weimar performance of Christoph Willibald Gluck's opera Orfeo ed Euridice. The performance helped celebrate the birthday of Weimar's Grand Duchess Maria Pawlowna, who was an amateur musician and a staunch supporter of Liszt at Weimar.

Read more about Orpheus (Liszt):  Bibliography

Other articles related to "liszt":

Orpheus (Liszt) - Bibliography
... Hamilton, Kenneth, The Cambridge Companion to Liszt(Cambridge and New York Cambridge University Press, 2005) ... Shulstad, Reeves, "Liszts symphonic poems and symphonies" ed ... Walker, Alan, Franz LisztThe man and His Music (New York Taplinger Publkishing Company, 1970) ...

Famous quotes containing the word orpheus:

    Or bid the soul of Orpheus sing
    Such notes as, warbled to the string,
    Drew iron tears down Pluto’s cheek,
    And made Hell grant what love did seek;
    John Milton (1608–1674)