Hungary - Administrative Divisions

Administrative Divisions

Administratively, Hungary is divided into 19 counties. In addition, the capital (főváros), Budapest, is independent of any county government. The counties and the capital are the 20 NUTS third-level units of Hungary.

The counties are further subdivided into 174 (1 January 2011.) subregions (kistérségek), and Budapest is its own subregion. Since 1996, the counties and City of Budapest have been grouped into 7 regions for statistical and development purposes. These seven regions constitute NUTS' second-level units of Hungary.

There are also 23 towns with county rights (singular megyei jogú város), sometimes known as "urban counties" in English (although there is no such term in Hungarian). The local authorities of these towns have extended powers, but these towns belong to the territory of the respective county instead of being independent territorial units.

  • Northern Hungary
  • Northern Great Plain
  • Central Hungary
  • Central Transdanubia
  • Western Transdanubia
  • Southern Transdanubia
  • Southern Great Plain
Counties (county seats)
  • Bács-Kiskun (Kecskemét)
  • Baranya (Pécs)
  • Békés (Békéscsaba)
  • Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén (Miskolc)
  • Csongrád (Szeged)
  • Fejér (Székesfehérvár)
  • Győr-Moson-Sopron (Győr)
  • Hajdú-Bihar (Debrecen)
  • Heves (Eger)
  • Jász-Nagykun-Szolnok (Szolnok)
  • Komárom-Esztergom (Tatabánya)
  • Nógrád (Salgótarján)
  • Pest (Budapest)
  • Somogy (Kaposvár)
  • Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg (Nyíregyháza)
  • Tolna (Szekszárd)
  • Vas (Szombathely)
  • Veszprém (Veszprém)
  • Zala (Zalaegerszeg)
  • Budapest, capital

Read more about this topic:  Hungary

Other articles related to "administrative, administrative divisions, divisions, administrative division":

Cities Of The Philippines - Independent Cities
... any province Consequently, the governor and the provincial government do not have administrative supervision over an independent city and its elected ... Being part of an administrative region different from the province's own does not make a city independent ... Regions are not the primary subnational administrative divisions of the Philippines, but rather the provinces ...
Okrug - Russia - Russian Federation
... is used to describe the following types of divisions Federal Districts (federalny okrug), such as the Siberian Federal District Autonomous okrugs (avtonomny okrug), such as ... their federal subject status and are now considered to be administrative territories within the federal subjects they had been merged into Agin-Buryat Okrug, a territory with special status within Zabaykalsky ... "Okrug" is also used to describe the administrative divisions of the two "federal cities" in Russia the administrative okrugs of Moscow are an upper-level administrative division ...
Hierarchy - Contexts and Applications - Further Applications - Power- or Authority-based
... Church hierarchy Raelian Church hierarchy see also autocephaly Administrative branch of government geographical hierarchies Administrative divisions of China Administrative divisions of India ...

Famous quotes containing the word divisions:

    Nothing does more to activate Christian divisions than talk about Christian unity.
    Conor Cruise O’Brien (b. 1917)