The CECAFA Cup is the oldest football tournament in Africa. A FIFA competition, it includes national teams from the Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA). There is an anomaly on national teams in the case of Tanzania. The latter nation for some reason fields two teams, Tanzania, and Zanzibar. In 2005 and 2006, the tournament was sponsored by the Ethiopian-Saudi businessman Sheikh Mohammed Al Amoudi, and was dubbed the Al Amoudi Senior Challenge Cup. It is the successor competition of the Gossage Cup, held 37 times from 1926 until 1966, and the East and Central African Senior Challenge Cup, held 7 times between 1965 and 1971.

In August 2012, CECAFA signed a sponsorship deal worth US$450,000 with East African Breweries to have the cup renamed to the CECAFA Tusker Challenge Cup.

Other articles related to "cecafa cup, cup":

Mike Sserumaga - International - International Goals
... Mumias Tanzania 2–0 2–0 2009 CECAFA Cup 2. 2010 Benjamin Mkapa National Stadium, Dar es Salaam Zanzibar 1–0 2–2 2010 CECAFA Cup 5 ... Marrakech Morocco 1–0 1–0 2011 LG Cup 6 ...
Ethiopia National Football Team - History - Recent Times
... In the 2004 African Nations Cup qualifiers, Ethiopians missed out on qualification by 3 points, losing their final game in Guinea ... Next challenge was 2004 CECAFA Cup ... Ethiopia made it to the final in Addis Ababa and won the cup in a dramatic nailbiting penalty shootout ...

Famous quotes containing the word cup:

    The cup of blessing that we bless, is it not a sharing in the blood of Christ? The bread that we break, is it not a sharing in the body of Christ?
    Bible: New Testament, 1 Corinthians 10:16.