What is Quebec?

  • (noun): The largest province of Canada; a French colony from 1663 to 1759 when it was lost to the British.
    See also — Additional definitions below


Quebec i/kwɪˈbɛk/ or /kəˈbɛk/ (French: Québec ) is a province in east-central Canada. It is the only Canadian province with a predominantly French-speaking population and the only one whose sole official language is French at the provincial level.

Read more about Quebec.

Some articles on Quebec:

Quebec City International Festival Of Military Bands
... The Quebec City International Festival of Military Bands (FIMMQ) is one of the major cultural events of Quebec City, inspired by Military Tattoos given by Canadian and foreign military bands and display teams ... It has taken place annually in August in Quebec City since 1998 ... in 1998, the FIMMQ celebrated its tenth anniversary in 2008, when Quebec was celebrating its 400th anniversary ...
Quebec, The Revolutionary Age 1760–1791
... Quebec, The Revolutionary Age 1760-1791 is a book (ISBN 0-7710-6658-9) by Canadian historian Dr ... between 1760-1791 in the colonial province of Quebec, Canada following victory by British forces over the armies of France and the decision made by the King of France to hand over Quebec ...
Quebec Route 191
... Quebec Route 191 is a provincial highway in the Canadian province of Quebec ... This route provides a link connecting Quebec Autoroute 20 and Quebec Autoroute 85 from Rivière-du-Loup and Cacouna and a direct link for areas east of Rivière-du-Loup towards the ...
Notre Dame - Places - Canada - Quebec
... Notre-Dame-Auxiliatrice-de-Buckland, Quebec, Chaudière-Appalaches Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours, Quebec, Outaouais Notre-Dame-de-Grâce, neighbourhood in Montreal Notre-Dame-de-Ham, Quebec, Centre-du-Qu ...
... Nord-du-Québec ( English Northern Quebec) is the largest of the seventeen administrative regions of Quebec, Canada ... rivers, it covers much of the Labrador Peninsula and about 55% of the total land surface area of Quebec and is larger than the U.S. 1987 it was referred to as Nouveau-Québec, or New Quebec ...

More definitions of "Quebec":

  • (noun): The French-speaking capital of the province of Quebec; situated on the Saint Lawrence River.
    Synonyms: Quebec City