What is Luzon?

  • (noun): The main island of the Philippines.


Luzon (/luːˈzɑːn/) is the largest island in the Philippines. It is located in the northernmost region of the archipelago, and is also the name of one of the three primary island groups in the country centred on the island (the other two being the Visayas and Mindanao). Luzon as an island group includes Luzon proper, the Batanes and Babuyan groups of islands to the north, and the outlying islands of Catanduanes, Marinduque, Masbate, Romblon, and Mindoro. Luzon is the economic and political center of the Philippines, being home to the country's capital city, Manila.

Read more about Luzon.

Some articles on Luzon:

Luzon - Demographics - Religion
... There are also sizable communities of Buddhists and Muslims in Metro Manila due to the migration of Moros and Chinese. ...
Luzon Campaign - Preparation
... forces could launch the attack on Luzon, a base of operation needed to be established close to the island ... and were ready to assist in the attack on Luzon, which was scheduled to be launched on 9 January 1945 ... forces were positioned south of Luzon ...
Luzon Campaign
... Leyte Leyte Gulf Ormoc Bay Convoy HI-81 Mindoro Lingayen Gulf Pangasinan Dagupan Luzon Northern Luzon Ilocos Norte and Ilocos Sur Baguio Mountain Province Kiangan Bessang Pass Mayoyao Ridge ... and economically important locations of Luzon by March 1945, although pockets of Japanese resistance held out in the mountains until the unconditional surrender of Japan ...
List Of Inactive Volcanoes In The Philippines - Inactive Volcanoes in The Philippines - Boom Strait
121.433°E / 19.317 121.433 (Bagua) Cagayan Luzon Strait ? Balatubat 18°57′N 121°56′E / 18.950°N 121.933°E / 18.950 121.933 (Balatubat ...