The Ashes

The Ashes is a Test cricket series played between England and Australia since 1882. It is one of the most celebrated rivalries in international cricket and is currently played biennially, alternately in England and Australia. Cricket being a summer sport, and the venues being in opposite hemispheres, the break between series alternates between 18 and 30 months. A series of "The Ashes" comprises five Test matches, two innings per match, under the regular rules for Test match cricket. If a series is drawn then the country already holding the Ashes retains them.

The series is named after a satirical obituary published in a British newspaper, The Sporting Times, in 1882 after a match at The Oval in which Australia beat England on an English ground for the first time. The obituary stated that English cricket had died, and the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia. The English media dubbed the next English tour to Australia (1882–83) as the quest to regain The Ashes.

During that tour a small terracotta urn was presented to England captain Ivo Bligh by a group of Melbourne women. The contents of the urn are reputed to be the ashes of an item of cricket equipment, a bail.

The urn is erroneously believed by some to be the trophy of the Ashes series, but it has never been formally adopted as such and Bligh always considered it to be a personal gift. Replicas of the urn are often held aloft by victorious teams as a symbol of their victory in an Ashes series, but the actual urn has never been presented or displayed as a trophy in this way. Whichever side holds the Ashes, the urn normally remains in the Marylebone Cricket Club Museum at Lord's since being presented to the MCC by Bligh's widow upon his death.

Since the 1998–99 Ashes series, a Waterford Crystal representation of the Ashes urn has been presented to the winners of an Ashes series as the official trophy of that series.

England is the current holder after winning the Ashes in 2009 and again in the 2010/11 series in Australia. The next series will be held in 2013 in England.

Read more about The Ashes:  Legend, Urn, Series and Matches, Summary of Results and Statistics, Overall Ashes Series Results, Match Venues, Cultural References

Other articles related to "the ashes, ashes, ashe":

Australian Cricket Team In England In 2009 - Matches - First Class Matches - The Ashes
... The 2009 Ashes series was held from 8 July to 23 August 2009 at five grounds in England and Wales ...
Cricket 07 - Gameplay Options - The Ashes - 2006-07 3 Mobile Ashes Series
... Players choose either England or Australia and take them through all the warm up matches, ODIs and Test matches in the 2006-07 Ashes series ... This is created as a balance in the form of an Australia-hosted tournament ...
The Ashes - Cultural References
... and/or their followers, using the name "Ashes" for contests between England and Australia ... rivalry between Great Britain and Australia (see rugby league "Ashes") ... Use of the name "Ashes" was suggested by the Australian team when rugby league matches between the two countries commenced in 1908 ...
List Of United States Political Families (A) - The Ashes
... John Baptista Ashe, North Carolina Colony Assemblyman ... Father of John Ashe and Samuel Ashe ... John Ashe (1720–1781), North Carolina Colony Assemblyman, North Carolina Colony Congressman, Treasurer of North Carolina 1777–1781 ...

Famous quotes containing the word ashes:

    Down the chimney St. Nicholas came with a bound.
    He was dressed all in fur, from his head to his foot,
    And his clothes were all tarnished with ashes and soot;
    Clement Clarke Moore (1779–1863)