Table of Municipalities of The Netherlands - Municipal Status

Municipal Status

Municipalities are the second-level administrative division, which makes it the third tier of public administration, in the Netherlands after the central government and the provinces. The Netherlands is a decentralized unitary state, which means that the central government is supreme and delegates certain tasks to lower levels of government by law. The different levels do, however, make work agreements, which give municipalities a certain degree of independence in their policy decisions. Municipalities are responsible for a wide variety of public services, among others these are land-use planning, public housing, local roads, waste management and social security. After the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles in 2010 three special municipalities (officially public bodies) were formed, these municipalities function the same as regular municipalities. They are grouped together as the Caribbean Netherlands and are not part of a province.

The municipalities are governed by both a council of mayor and aldermen and a municipal council. The municipal council, which is titled island council in the special municipalities, is elected every four years. The number of members in the council ranges from nine members for the smallest municipalities to forty-five members for the largest. It is the highest administrative body in the municipality and controls public policy. The executive power lies with the executive board, which consists of a mayor, titled lieutenant governor in the special municipalities, and multiple aldermen, titled island deputies in the special municipalities. The mayor is appointed for six years at a time by the crown and the alderman are elected by the municipal council, typically after each municipal election. The mayor is responsible for public order and is the first in command during emergencies, all other tasks are distributed freely between mayor and aldermen, the exact portfolio for each person differs between each municipality.

Historical number of municipalities
Year No. ±%
1850 1,209
1900 1,121 −7.3%
1950 1,015 −9.5%
2000 537 −47.1%
2013 408 −24.0%
Source: Ekamper et al. (2003), CBS

Official municipal boundaries were first drawn up in 1832 in the Netherlands after a cadastre was formed. The Municipalities Act of 1851, which was written by prime minister Thorbecke, lead to the disappearance of small municipalities. Throughout the years less populous municipalities have been merged, they were either added to the larger neighbouring cities or multiple smaller municipalities merged into a larger new municipality with a new name. In 1850 there were 1,209 municipalities, this decreased to 1,121 in 1900, 1,015 in 1950 and 537 in 2000. During this time multiple mergers occurred simultaneously in large parts of individual provinces, the municipal boundaries were basically redrawn in these regions. In the 19th and large parts of the 20th century municipal mergers were forced by the central government. This policy changed in the end of the 20th century, local support for the merger is now a large part of the decision making process. The larger, merged municipalities are intended to handle an increasing workload, because more public services are delegated from higher levels of government to the municipalities. Another reason for municipal mergers is the assumption that larger municipalities are more efficient in performing their tasks than smaller ones.

Municipalities have the right to decentralize themselves and form submunicipalities as an additional level of government. This right and the submunicipalities themselves will cease to exist in the near future. Only Amsterdam, where the districts are called stadsdelen, and Rotterdam, where the districts are called deelgemeenten, have instituted such formal subdivisions. For administrative use by municipalities themselves and data collection by Statistics Netherlands all municipalities are subdivided into districts (wijken), which in turn are subdivided into neighbourhoods (buurten). These subdivisions have, in contrast to the submunicipalities, no formal status. As of 2012 the municipalities in the Netherlands were subdivided into 2,621 districts and 11,896 neighbourhoods.

Read more about this topic:  Table Of Municipalities Of The Netherlands

Other articles related to "municipal status, municipal, status":

List Of Municipalities In British Columbia - Municipal Status
... are able to raise funds through property taxes and user fees, and borrow through the Municipal Finance Authority to pay for services and capital costs ... The most recent municipal election occurred on November 19, 2011 the next one will take place on November 15, 2014 ... to do so, despite population growth or loss - Greenwood has retained its city status, for example, rather than relinquishing it as other boomtowns of its ...
List Of Towns In Alberta - New Towns
... New town is a former urban municipal status in Alberta that is no longer in use ... Drayton Valley was also the community that operated under new town status for the shortest period – eight months from June 1, 1956 to February 1, 1957 ... years until September 1, 1983 when it changed to town status ...
Ballarat East, Victoria - History - Municipal Status, Town Hall and Civic Centre
... Ballarat East was one of the first areas of Ballarat to gain municipal status ... In 1859 the newly formed Ballarat East Town Council acquisioned land in what was to become the Barkly Street civic area and in 1861 Dec 26 the foundation stone was laid for the Ballarat East Town Hall which was built in a Renaissance Revival architecture style and set in formal gardens ...

Famous quotes containing the words status and/or municipal:

    Knowing how beleaguered working mothers truly are—knowing because I am one of them—I am still amazed at how one need only say “I work” to be forgiven all expectation, to be assigned almost a handicapped status that no decent human being would burden further with demands. “I work” has become the universally accepted excuse, invoked as an all-purpose explanation for bowing out, not participating, letting others down, or otherwise behaving inexcusably.
    Melinda M. Marshall (20th century)

    No sane local official who has hung up an empty stocking over the municipal fireplace, is going to shoot Santa Claus just before a hard Christmas.
    Alfred E. Smith (1873–1944)