Table of Municipalities of The Netherlands

Table Of Municipalities Of The Netherlands

There are 408 regular municipalities (gemeenten) and 3 public bodies (openbare lichamen), also referred to as special municipalities (bijzondere gemeenten), in the Netherlands. Municipalities are the second-level administrative division in the Netherlands, they are subdivisions of their respective provinces. Their duties are delegated to them by the central government and they are ruled by a municipal council that is elected every four years. Municipal mergers have reduced the total number of municipalities over the last century. They span 6.92 km2 (2.67 sq mi) to 813.14 km2 (313.96 sq mi) in area and have populations ranging from 957 to 799,406 persons.

Read more about Table Of Municipalities Of The Netherlands:  Municipal Status, See Also

Other articles related to "table of municipalities of the netherlands, of the netherlands, the netherlands, netherlands":

Table Of Municipalities Of The Netherlands - See Also
... Geography of the Netherlands List of cities in the Netherlands by province Association of Netherlands Municipalities Municipal politics in the Netherlands ...

Famous quotes containing the words netherlands and/or table:

    Greece is a sort of American vassal; the Netherlands is the country of American bases that grow like tulip bulbs; Cuba is the main sugar plantation of the American monopolies; Turkey is prepared to kow-tow before any United States pro-consul and Canada is the boring second fiddle in the American symphony.
    Andrei Andreyevich Gromyko (1909–1989)

    Life is a thin narrowness of taken-for-granted, a plank over a canyon in a fog. There is something under our feet, the taken-for-granted. A table is a table, food is food, we are we—because we don’t question these things. And science is the enemy because it is the questioner. Faith saves our souls alive by giving us a universe of the taken-for-granted.
    Rose Wilder Lane (1886–1968)