San Luis Potosí

San Luis Potosí, officially Free and Sovereign State of San Luis Potosí (Spanish: Estado Libre y Soberano de San Luis Potosí, literally: St. Louis Potosi), is one of the 31 states which, with the Federal District, comprise the 32 Federal Entities of Mexico. It is divided in 58 municipalities and its capital city is San Luis Potosí.

It is located in North-Central Mexico. It is bordered by the states of Nuevo León and Tamaulipas to the northeast, Veracruz to the east, Hidalgo, Querétaro, and Guanajuato to the south and Zacatecas to the northwest.

In addition to the capital city, the state's largest cities include Ciudad Valles, Matehuala, and Rioverde.

Read more about San Luis Potosí:  Etymology, Geography, Municipalities, Major Communities, Governors, Economy, Demographics, Education, Transportation, Notable Natives and Residents

Famous quotes containing the words san and/or luis:

    It is an odd thing, but every one who disappears is said to be seen at San Francisco. It must be a delightful city, and possess all the attractions of the next world.
    Oscar Wilde (1854–1900)

    Reading ... is an activity subsequent to writing: more resigned, more civil, more intellectual.
    —Jorge Luis Borges (1899–1986)