Pulaski County Special School District - Elementary Schools

Elementary Schools

The Pulaski County Special School District operates 24 elementary schools including several magnet schools and specialty schools providing focus on particular subject areas. In 2008, the William Jefferson Clinton Elementary Magnet School was named a National Blue Ribbon School, followed by a National Blue Ribbon School designation for Arnold Drive Elementary School in 2010.

In 2008, Arnold Drive Elementary and Warren Dupree Elementary were honored as a National Title I Distinguished School. Harris Health & Science Specialty Elementary School is designated as an Arkansas Reading First and NASA Explorer School. In 2011, Sherwood Elementary's Odyssey of the Mind team takes the Arkansas State Tournament and went to the World Finals. Also, Dupree Elementary received a National School of Distinction status from the Schools Fight Hunger program.

Originally, Harris Elementary School named in honor of Viola H. Harris, a former administrator of the district and McAlmont Elementary School, served as Pulaski Technical School before being renamed as Harris High School starting in the fall of 1963 and lasting until 1970 when the district reorganized its facilities as a result of desegregation and the facility became an elementary school. The high school's mascot of the Panthers remains today as Harris Elementary School's mascot.

Sortable table
School Name Location Grades NCES School ID Website(s)
Adkins Pre-Kindergarten School Jacksonville PK 051185000901
Arnold Drive Elementary School † Jacksonville PK–5 051185000926 Official website
John W. Baker Inter-district Elementary School Jacksonville K–5 051185000903 Official website
Daisy Bates Elementary School † Little Rock PK–5 051185001391 Official website
Bayou Meto Elementary School † Jacksonville PK–5 051185000905 Official website
Cato Elementary School † North Little Rock PK–5 051185000906 Official website
Chenal Elementary School † Little Rock PK-5 051185001484 Official website
William Jefferson Clinton Speech Communications and Technology Magnet Elementary School † Sherwood PK–5 051185000122 Official website
College Station Magnet Elementary School † College Station PK–5 051185000910 Official website
Crystal Hill Elementary School † North Little Rock PK–5 051185000058 Official website
Harris Health & Science Specialty Elementary School † Little Rock PK–5 051185000916 Official website
Joe T. Robinson Elementary School † Little Rock PK–5 051185000922 Official website
Landmark Fine Arts Specialty Elementary School † Little Rock PK–5 051185000927 Official website
Lawson Elementary School † Little Rock PK–5 051185000928 Official website
Murrell Taylor Elementary School † Jacksonville PK–5 051185001256 Official website
Oak Grove Elementary School † North Little Rock PK–5 051185000933 Official website
Oakbrooke Elementary School † Sherwood PK–5 051185001239 Official website
Pine Forest Elementary School Maumelle PK–5 051185001257 Official website
PCSSD page
Pinewood Elementary School † Jacksonville PK–5 051185000935 Official website
Scott Elementary School † Scott PK–6 051185000938 Official website
Sherwood Elementary School † Sherwood PK–5 051185000939 Official website
Sylvan Hills Elementary School † Sherwood PK–5 051185000940 Official website
Tolleson Elementary School † Jacksonville PK–5 051185000925 Official website
Warren Dupree Elementary School † Sherwood K–5 051185000912 Official website

† denotes Title I school

Read more about this topic:  Pulaski County Special School District

Other articles related to "elementary schools, elementary school, school, schools, elementary":

Wooster City School District - Schools - Elementary Schools
... Cornerstone Elementary School (K through 4th) Kean Elementary School (K through 4th) Melrose Elementary School (K through 4th) Parkview Elementary School (K through 4th) ...
Fort Zumwalt School District - Schools - Secondary Schools - Elementary Schools
... Dardenne Elementary School (O'Fallon) Emge Elementary School (O'Fallon) Forest Park Elementary School (O'Fallon) Hawthorn Elementary School (Saint Peters) J ... Mudd Elementary School (O'Fallon) Lewis and Clark Elementary School (Saint Peters) Mid Rivers Elementary School (Saint Peters) Mt ... Hope Elementary School (O'Fallon) Ostmann Elementary School (Dardenne Prairie) Pheasant Point Elementary School (O'Fallon) Progress South Elementary School (Saint Peters) Rock Creek Elementary School (O'Fallon) St ...
Carrollton-Farmers Branch Independent School District - History
... The Carrollton and Farmers Branch school districts voted to merge in 1955 ... that, the two cities operated separate school systems, although only Carrollton's went through the twelfth grade (Farmers Branch students had to decide in eighth grade if they wanted ... At the time of the merger there were three schools operating Carrollton Elementary (opened in 1951), Carrollton High School (opened in 1936 and now DeWitt Perry Middle ...
Belmont Public Schools - Schools
... There are four public elementary schools in Belmont the Burbank, Butler, Winn Brook, and Wellington schools ... The new Wellington Elementary has just been completed ... Two other public elementary schools, Payson Park and Kendall, were burnt down in the 1970s and 1980s, respectively ...

Famous quotes containing the words schools and/or elementary:

    In America the taint of sectarianism lies broad upon the land. Not content with acknowledging the supremacy as the Diety, and with erecting temples in his honor, where all can bow down with reverence, the pride and vanity of human reason enter into and pollute our worship, and the houses that should be of God and for God, alone, where he is to be honored with submissive faith, are too often merely schools of metaphysical and useless distinctions. The nation is sectarian, rather than Christian.
    James Fenimore Cooper (1789–1851)

    As if paralyzed by the national fear of ideas, the democratic distrust of whatever strikes beneath the prevailing platitudes, it evades all resolute and honest dealing with what, after all, must be every healthy literature’s elementary materials.
    —H.L. (Henry Lewis)