Provinces of Peru

The provinces of Peru, known in Spanish as provincias, are the second-level administrative subdivisions of the country. They are divided into districts (Spanish: distritos). There are 195 provinces in Peru, grouped into 25 regions except for the Lima Province which does not belong to any region. This makes an average of 7 provinces per region. The region with the fewest provinces is Callao (one) and the region with the most is Ancash (twenty).

While provinces in the sparsely populated Amazon rainforest of eastern Peru tend to be larger, there is a large concentration of them in the north-central area of the country. The province with the least number of districts is Purus Province, with just 1 district. The province with the most districts is Lima Province, with 43 districts. The most common number of districts per province is 8, a total of 29 provinces share this number of districts.

Read more about Provinces Of Peru:  Provinces Table, By Population

Other articles related to "provinces of peru, province":

Provinces Of Peru - By Population
... Province Population Region Name of City Districts Lima 7,605,742 Lima Lima 43 Constitutional Province of Callao 876,877 Callao Callao 6 Arequipa 864,250 Arequipa ...

Famous quotes containing the word peru:

    The idea that nations should love one another, or that business concerns or marketing boards should love one another, or that a man in Portugal should love a man in Peru of whom he has never heard—it is absurd, unreal, dangerous.... The fact is we can only love what we know personally. And we cannot know much.
    —E.M. (Edward Morgan)