Piano Sonata in E-flat Major, D. 568 (Schubert)

The Piano Sonata No. 7 (D. 568) in E-flat major by Franz Schubert is a sonata for solo piano composed in 1817, and published in 1829 after Schubert's death as Op. posth. 122. The sonata has four movements:

  1. Allegro moderato: E-flat major
  2. Andante molto: G minor
  3. Menuetto: E-flat major (and A-flat major in the "trio")
  4. Allegro moderato: E-flat major

This sonata is a transposition and elaboration of the Piano Sonata in D-flat, D. 567.

Daniel Coren summarized the nature of the recapitulation in the first movement of this sonata as "syncopated primary material."

Famous quotes containing the word piano:

    When you take a light perspective, it’s easier to step back and relax when your child doesn’t walk until fifteen months, . . . is not interested in playing ball, wants to be a cheerleader, doesn’t want to be a cheerleader, has clothes strewn in the bedroom, has difficulty making friends, hates piano lessons, is awkward and shy, reads books while you are driving through the Grand Canyon, gets caught shoplifting, flunks Spanish, has orange and purple hair, or is lesbian or gay.
    Charlotte Davis Kasl (20th century)