Juan Domingo Perón (; October 8, 1895 – July 1, 1974) was an Argentine military officer and politician. After serving in several government positions, including those of Minister of Labour and Vice President of the Republic, he was three times elected as President of Argentina serving from June 1946 to September 1955 and from October 1973 to July 1974.

During his first presidential term (1946-1952), Perón was supported by his second wife, Eva Duarte ("Evita"), and the two were immensely popular among many Argentines. Eva died in 1952 and Perón was elected to a second term, serving from 1952 until 1955. During the following period of two military dictatorships, interrupted by one civilian government, the Peronist party was outlawed and Perón was exiled. When the left-wing Peronist Hector Cámpora was elected President in 1973, Perón returned to Argentina and was soon after elected President for a third time. His third wife, María Estela Martínez, served as Vice President and succeeded him as President upon his death in 1974.

Juan and Evita Perón are still considered icons by the Peronists. The Peróns' followers praised their efforts to eliminate poverty and to dignify labor, while their detractors considered them demagogues and dictators. The Peróns gave their name to the political movement known as Peronism, which in present-day Argentina is represented mainly by the Justicialist Party.

Read more about Peron:  Childhood and Youth, Army Career, Military Government of 1943–1946, Domestic Policy and First Term (1946–1952), Eva Perón's Influence and Contribution, Opposition and Repression, Perón and Fascism, Perón's Second Term, Exile (1955–1973), The Third Term (1973–1974), Mausoleum and Legacy, See Also

Other articles related to "peron":

Peron Peninsula
... Peron Peninsula is a long narrow peninsula located in the Shark Bay World Heritage site in Western Australia, at about 25°51' S longitude and 113°30' E latitude ... It is the location of former Pastoral leases Peron and Nanga stations ... The northern area contains the Francois Peron National Park ...
Peron Islands
... The Peron Islands are two low-lying islands off the west coast of the Northern Territory of Australia ... The smaller South Peron Island lies about 3 km to the southeast of the more dominant North Peron Island ... The Peron Islands along with the adjacent land and waters (to the low tide water mark) surrounding the Peron Islands and the community of Bulgul are part of the Delissaville Wagait Larrakia ...
Peron Peninsula - History - Peron Homestead Artesian Bore
... The Peron Historical Homestead is near Denham ... Peron Peninsula is part of the Carnarvon Basin, a geological structure lacking permanent fresh surface water ...
L'Haridon Bight
... L'Haridon Bight is one of the bays on the eastern side of the Peron Peninsula in the Shark Bay World Heritage Site in the Gascoyne region of Western Australia ... Shell Beach which is part of the very narrow Taillefer Isthmus that leads to the Peron Peninusula to the north ... part, and Dubaut Point to the west on the Peron Peninsula ...