The Ontario Junior Hockey League is a Junior A ice hockey league under the supervision of the Ontario Hockey Association and the Canadian Junior Hockey League. The league dates back to 1954 as the Central Junior B Hockey League. In 1993, the Central Junior B Hockey League was promoted to the Junior A level and renamed the Ontario Provincial Junior A Hockey League. In 2009, the league was dissolved by the Ontario Hockey Association and split into two leagues: the Central Canadian Hockey League and the Ontario Junior A Hockey League. By early 2010, both sides had gotten over their differences and merged to reform the Ontario Junior Hockey League was well as agreeing to a retraction by 5-teams.

Starting in the 2012-13 season, the league will feature 22 teams. At its peak, the league showcased 37 teams, but the league now has a policy of retraction. Despite the sheer size of the league, the OJHL is mostly based in the Greater Toronto Area with a few teams eastward to Kingston. The entire area west of Hamilton and Milton, Southwestern Ontario, and north of Orangeville and west of Lindsay, Central Ontario, is not serviced by Junior A hockey despite recent attempts by the Ontario Hockey Association to rectify the issue. The exception to this is the Buffalo Jr. Sabres located in the state of New York.

The winner of the OJHL playoffs and Frank L. Buckland Trophy compete for the Dudley Hewitt Cup with the winners of the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League, Superior International Junior Hockey League and the host team. The winner of the Dudley Hewitt Cup then goes on to compete for the Royal Bank Cup.

For season-by-season results from the OJHL/OPJHL, please see: List of OJHL seasons.

Read more about OJHLHistory, Changes For 2012-13, Teams, Former Teams, OPJHL Showcase Tournament, League Records, Timeline of Teams in OJHL

Other articles related to "ojhl":

Stouffville Spirit - Season-by-season Results
13 - 67. 4th OPJHL-N 2008-09 34 ... - 32. 8th OJHL-C 2009-10 19 ... - 59. 4th CCHL-E Lost Preliminary 2010-11 11 ... - 72. 3rd OJHL-N Lost Semi-final 2011-12 8 ... - 9 ...
Trenton Golden Hawks - Season-by-Season Results
... OPJHL-E 2008-09 26 ... - 43. 6th OJHL-R 2009-10 18 ... - 73. 4th OJAHL Lost Semi-final 2010-11 27 ... - 42. 7th OJHL-E DNQ 2011-12 36. 7 ...
Timeline of Teams in OJHL
... mended and the Oakville Blades represent both leagues as the OJHL Champions) 2009 - Port Hope Predators move and become Trenton Golden Hawks 2009 - Toronto Dixie Beehives move and become Dixie Beehives ...
Markham Waxers - Season-by-season Results
233 35. 10th OPJHL 1980-81 1 ... - 37. 8th OPJHL 1981-82 5 ... - 57. 4th OJHL Lost Final 1982-83 6 ... - 42. 7th OJHL 1983-84 5 ... - 41. 5th OJHL 1984-85 25. 3 ... OPJHL-S 2008-09 15 ... - 74. 2nd OJHL-C 2009-10 64. 3rd CCHL-E Lost Quarter-final 2010-11 12 ... - 72. 2nd OJHL-N ...
Puckman - Current Roster
... Dubuque (USHL) None 10 Curtis Leonard Freshman Napanee, Ontario Wellington (OJHL) None 11 Bo Dolan Sophomore St ... Thomas Academy (USHS–MN) None 9 Matt Neal Freshman Minesing, Ontario Stouffville (OJHL) None 12 Johnny Rogic Sophomore North Vancouver, British Columbia Alberni Valley (BCHL) None 14 Greg ... Green Bay (USHL) None 23 Brock Higgs Sophomore Kingston, Ontario Kingston (OJHL) None 27 Marty O'Grady Junior London, Ontario Wellington (OJHL) None 28 Matt Tinordi ...