NFC Championship Game

NFC Championship Game

The National Football Conference (NFC) Championship Game (also unofficially referred to as the NFC Title Game) is one of the two semi-final playoff matches of the National Football League, the largest professional American football league in the United States. The game is played on the penultimate Sunday in January and determines the champion of the National Football Conference. The winner then advances to face the winner of the American Football Conference (AFC) Championship Game in the Super Bowl.

The game was established as part of the 1970 merger between the NFL and the American Football League (AFL), with the merged league realigning into two conferences. Since 1984, each winner of the NFC Championship Game has also received the George Halas Trophy, named after the longtime leader of the NFL's Chicago Bears.

Read more about NFC Championship GameHistory, Playoff Structure, George Halas Trophy, List of NFC Championship Games, NFC Championship Game Appearances 1970–present, NFC Championship Game Records

Other articles related to "championship, nfc, nfc championship game, nfc championships, games, game":

NFC West - Division Champions
1968 Baltimore Colts 13-1-0 Won NFL Championship Lost Super Bowl III 1969 Los Angeles Rams 11-3-0 Lost NFL Divisional Playoffs NFC West 1970 San Francisco 49ers 10-3-1 Lost NFC ... Super Bowl XXXIV 2000 New Orleans Saints 10-6-0 Lost NFC Divisional Playoffs 2001 St ... Louis Rams 14-2-0 Lost Super Bowl XXXVI 2002 San Francisco 49ers 10-6-0 Lost NFC Divisional Playoffs 2003 St ...
List Of NFC Champions - Background
... The NFC champion is not necessarily the team with the best record in the regular season ... Rather, the champion is decided by the NFC Championship Game as part of the post-season playoffs involving the teams with the best regular season records ... The Dallas Cowboys won the first two NFC championships, in 1970 and 1971 ...
NFC Championship Game Records
... (1980–82) Philadelphia Eagles (2001-03) Most Games Hosted 9 - San Francisco 49ers (1970, 1981, 1984, 1989–90, 1992, 1994, 1997, 2011) Most numerous matchup 6** - Dallas Cowboys vs ... Tampa Bay Buccaneers (0) Longest game 71 minutes, 52 seconds** January 17, 1999 (1998 season) - Atlanta Falcons (30) @ Minnesota Vikings (27), OT Most NFC Championships ...
List Of NFC Champions - Footnotes
... quarterback for the last three regular season games, and was also the quarterback for the NFC Championship game and Super Bowl XIV ... the season and was the Redskins quarterback for the NFC Championship game and Super Bowl XXII ... quarterback for the last two regular season games and for the postseason, including the NFC Championship game and Super Bowl XXV ...
Ditka - Coaching Career - Chicago Bears
... By his second season Ditka led the Bears to the NFC Championship Game, where the Bears were shut out by the eventual Super Bowl winning 49ers in San Francisco ... unofficial title of the "Greatest NFL Team of All-Time." The NFL Network America's Game rated the 1985 Bears as the second best Super Bowl champions ever ... Division title and earned three home playoff games ...

Famous quotes containing the word game:

    One of life’s primal situations; the game of hide and seek. Oh, the delicious thrill of hiding while the others come looking for you, the delicious terror of being discovered, but what panic when, after a long search, the others abandon you! You mustn’t hide too well. You mustn’t be too good at the game. The player must never be bigger than the game itself.
    Jean Baudrillard (b. 1929)