My Great Predecessors

My Great Predecessors is a series of chess books written by World Champion Garry Kasparov. The five volumes in the My Great Predecessors series are about the players who preceded Kasparov in being official World Champions. The series of books continued with the Modern Chess volumes that covers developments in the 1970s and Kasparov's games with Anatoly Karpov. The series is being extended with three volumes of Garry Kasparov on Garry Kasparov, covering his other games. The books contain some historical details, but for the most part the books are made up of annotated games.

Chess journalist Dmitry Plisetsky helped with the books and Kasparov thanks some other chess players in the prefaces of each of the volumes. The books were translated into English by Ken Neat. Each volume has an index of players of the games and an index of chess openings used in the games. They were published in 9.9" by 7.2" (25 cm by 18 cm) hardback by Everyman Chess starting in 2003. Many copies of the books contain labels autographed by Kasparov.

Read more about My Great Predecessors:  My Great Predecessors, chess">Modern Chess, Garry Kasparov On Garry Kasparov, Reception, Book Data

Other articles related to "my great predecessors":

My Great Predecessors - Book Data
... My Great Predecessors, Part I ... My Great Predecessors, Part II ... My Great Predecessors, Part III ...

Famous quotes containing the word predecessors:

    I recognize in [my readers] a specific form and individual property, which our predecessors called Pantagruelism, by means of which they never take anything the wrong way that they know to stem from good, honest and loyal hearts.
    François Rabelais (1494–1553)