Maratha - Maratha Clans

Maratha Clans

Robert Vane Russell, an untrained ethnologist of the British Raj period, recorded a theory that Marathas belong to one of the 96 different clans, known as the 96 Kuli Marathas or Chhānnava Kule. The organisation of this clan system is disputed in the popular culture and by historians; an authoritative listing was attempted in 1889, but the general body of lists are often at great variance with each other.

Read more about this topic:  Maratha

Other articles related to "maratha clans, maratha, marathas":

Gwalior State - Maratha Clans
... The wide variety of Maratha families having Maharashtrian roots served the state of gwalior includes major Marathas Sardars Like Angre, Mohite, Shitole, Mahadik, Phalke, Kadam, Nimbalkar, Ghorpade, Surve, Pawar ... Majority prominent Maratha clans are from Satara District(more precisely, from Koregaon and Phaltan Tehsil) ... Sardar Shitole Deshmukh owned Pohari Jagir, and rest marathas also owned Jagirs ...