Macau (Chinese: 澳門), also spelled Macao ( /məˈkaʊ/), is one of the two special administrative regions of the People's Republic of China, the other being Hong Kong. Macau lies on the western side of the Pearl River Delta across from Hong Kong to the east, bordered by Guangdong province to the north and facing the South China Sea to the east and south. The territory's economy is heavily dependent on gambling and tourism, but also includes manufacturing.

A former Portuguese colony, Macau was administered by Portugal from the mid-16th century until 1999, when it was the last remaining European colony in China. Portuguese traders first settled in Macau in the 1550s. In 1557 Macau was rented to Portugal by the Chinese empire as a trading port. The Portuguese administered the city under Chinese authority and sovereignty until 1887, when Macau became a colony of the Portuguese empire. Sovereignty over Macau was transferred back to China on 20 December 1999. The Sino-Portuguese Joint Declaration and the Basic Law of Macau stipulate that Macau operate with a high degree of autonomy until at least 2049, fifty years after the transfer.

Under the policy of "one country, two systems", the PRC's Central People's Government is responsible for the territory's defense and foreign affairs, while Macau maintains its own legal system, police force, monetary system, customs policy, and immigration policy. Macau participates in many international organizations and events that do not require members to possess national sovereignty.

According to The World Factbook, Macau has the second highest life expectancy in the world. In addition, Macau is one of the very few regions in Asia with a "very high Human Development Index", ranking 23rd or 24th in the world in 2007 (with Japan being the highest in Asia, within the "very high HDI" category, the other Asian countries are Hong Kong, Macau, Singapore and South Korea).

Read more about Macau:  Etymology, History, Government and Politics, Geography, Economy, Monetary System, Demographics, Education, Health Care, Transport, Culture, Sports

Other articles related to "macau":

Commission Of Audit (Macau)
... Commission of Audit (Macau) is the auditor for the government of Macau to aid accountability by conducting independent audits of the government operations ... auditors in other jurisdictions, but the Commissioner reports directly to the Chief Executive of Macau, not to Legislative Council of Macau and therefore lacks independence from ...
Macau Light Rail Transit - Stations
... The Phase I Macau LRT (Macau-Taipa Line) will have 21 stations, two stations initially scheduled near the Cultural Centre and near the Macau Government Headquarters on Avenida da Praia Grande having been ... Oceano 海洋花園 海洋花园 12 Jockey Clube de Macau 澳門賽馬會 澳门赛马会 13 Estádio de Macau 澳門運動場 澳门运动场 14 Vila da Taipa ...
Corpo De Bombeiros De Macau - Commissioners
... Loi Kam Wan - Commissioner Macau Fire Service Eurico Lopes Fazenda - Deputy Commissioner Macau Fire Service Lei Pun Chi - Deputy Commissioner Macau Fire Service ...
Macau - International Relations - Twin Towns – Sister Cities
... Macau is twinned with São Paulo, Brazil Lisbon, Portugal Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Kolkata, India Brasília, Brazil Porto, Portugal Brussels, Belgium Coimbra, Portugal Luanda, Angola Linköping, Sweden Maputo ...
Macau Light Rail Transit - Network
... will consist of at least two phases Phase I Line (Macau-Taipa Line) The line will connect major entry-exit points at the Macau Peninsula and the Taipa Island with residential and tourist areas ... area, and eventually form a loop on the Macau peninsula ...