Lemelson–MIT Prize

The Lemelson Foundation awards several prizes yearly to inventors in United States. The largest is the Lemelson-MIT Prize which was endowed in 1994 by Jerome H. Lemelson, and is administered through the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The winner receives $500,000, making it the largest cash prize for invention in the U.S.

From 1995 through 2006, the $100,000 Lemelson-MIT Lifetime Achievement Award and the $30,000 Lemelson-MIT Student Prize were also presented along with the Lemelson-MIT prize. In 2007 the Lifetime Achievement award was replaced with the $100,000 Lemelson-MIT Award for Sustainability. In 2007 the Lemelson Foundation also introduced two additional $30,000 student prizes to be awarded at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. A student prize for the California Institute of Technology was added in 2009.

Other articles related to "prize":

Lemelson–MIT Prize - List of Winners - 1995
... William Bolander (Lemelson-MIT Prize) William Hewlett (Co-recipient, Lemelson-MIT Lifetime Achievement Award) David Packard (Co-recipient, Lemelson-MIT ...

Famous quotes containing the word prize:

    To a maiden true he’ll give his hand,
    Hey lillie, ho lillie lallie,
    To the king’s daughter o’ fair England,
    To a prize that was won by a slain brother’s brand,
    I’ the brave nights so early.
    Unknown. Earl Brand (l. 67–71)