Inheritance Cycle

The Inheritance Cycle is a young adult tetralogy of epic fantasy novels written by American author Christopher Paolini. Set in the fictional world of Alagaësia ( /æləˈɡeɪziə/), the novels focus on the adventures of a teenage boy named Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, as they struggle to overthrow an evil king named Galbatorix. The series was originally intended to be a trilogy (named the "Inheritance Trilogy") until Paolini announced, on October 30, 2007, while working on the third novel, that he believed the story was too complex to conclude in just three.

The first book in the series, Eragon, was published in 2002 and subsequently re-published in 2003; it was followed by Eldest in 2005. Both were New York Times bestsellers. The third book in the series, Brisingr, was published on September 20, 2008, and the fourth and final book, Inheritance, was released on November 8, 2011. The series has sold 33.5 million copies worldwide.

Eragon was originally self-published by Paolini's family in 2002, as Paolini LLC, and re-published in 2003 by Knopf. In 2006, a feature film was released that is based on the first book in the cycle, Eragon, starring Ed Speleers, Jeremy Irons, John Malkovich and Djimon Hounsou. The film received generally negative reviews and closed as the 13th highest grossing fantasy-live action film within the United States.

Read more about Inheritance Cycle:  Publication History, Synopsis, Notable Characters, Eragon's Guide To Alagaësia, Potential Sequels, Criticism, Eragon Film Adaptation

Other articles related to "inheritance, inheritance cycle, cycle":

Inheritance (novel)
... Inheritance is the fourth and final book in the Inheritance Cycle written by American author Christopher Paolini ... The Inheritance Cycle was originally intended to be a trilogy, but Paolini has stated that during writing, the length of Brisingr grew, and the book was split into two parts to be published ... originally intended for Brisingr are in Inheritance ...
Brisngr - Plot - Setting and Characters
... It continues the story of the Inheritance Cycle and takes place on the fictional continent of Alagaësia during a struggle for power as the small country Surda and a rebel group ... The Inheritance Cycle focuses on the story of a teenage boy named Eragon and his dragon Saphira ... reprise their roles in Brisingr from previous installments of the Inheritance Cycle, including the elves Arya, Islanzadí, and Oromis the dwarf Orik the humans Angela, Katrina and Elva and the dragon ...
Christopher Paolini - Biography
... Knopf subsequently made an offer to publish Eragon and the rest of the Inheritance cycle ... The third book in the cycle, Brisingr, was released on September 20, 2008 ... Although the Inheritance Cycle was planned as a trilogy, the details for Brisingr had to be expanded to include a fourth book, Inheritance ...

Famous quotes containing the words cycle and/or inheritance:

    Only mediocrities progress. An artist revolves in a cycle of masterpieces, the first of which is no less perfect than the last.
    Oscar Wilde (1854–1900)

    Every third year you shall bring out the full tithe of your produce for that year, and store it within your towns; the Levites, because they have no allotment or inheritance with you, as well as the resident aliens, the orphans, and the widows in your towns, may come and eat their fill so that the LORD your God may bless you in all the work that you undertake.
    Bible: Hebrew, Deuteronomy 14:28,29.