Han River (Yangtze River Tributary)

The Han River (simplified Chinese: 汉江; traditional Chinese: 漢江; pinyin: Hàn Jiāng) is a left tributary of the Yangtze River (Cháng Jiāng) with a length of 1532 km. Historically it was referred to as Hànshuǐ (simplified Chinese: 汉水; traditional Chinese: 漢水; pinyin: Hànshuǐ) and the name is still occasionally used today. The river lent its name to Hanzhong, which lent its name to the Han Dynasty.

The Han River rises in southwestern Shaanxi and flows east across the southern part of that province. To the north are the Qin Mountains, then the Wei River tributary of the Yellow River and the Ordos Loop region. To the south are the Daba Mountains which separate it from Sichuan and Chongqing. The main cities are Hanzhong in the west and Ankang in the east. It then enters Hubei. It crosses most of Hubei from the northwest to the southeast, falling into the Yangtze at the provincial capital Wuhan, a city of several million inhabitants. The merging rivers divide the city of Wuhan into three sections: Wuchang (on the south side of the Yangtze, across the river from the mouth of the Han River), Hankou (on the north side of the Yangtze and the Han), and Hanyang (between the Yangtze and the Han).

Danjiangkou Dam was constructed on the Han River in northern Hubei in 1958. It has been heightened since. The Danjiangkou Reservoir created thereby is now used as part of the South–North Water Transfer Project.

Famous quotes containing the words han and/or river:

    men may wel often finde
    A lordes sone do shame and vileinye;
    And he that wol han prys of his gentrye
    For he was boren of a gentil hous,
    Geoffrey Chaucer (1340?–1400)

    Is not disease the rule of existence? There is not a lily pad floating on the river but has been riddled by insects. Almost every shrub and tree has its gall, oftentimes esteemed its chief ornament and hardly to be distinguished from the fruit. If misery loves company, misery has company enough. Now, at midsummer, find me a perfect leaf or fruit.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)