European Golden Shoe

The European Golden Shoe, formerly known as the European Golden Boot, is an association football award presented each season to the leading goalscorer in league matches from the top division of every European national league. From its inception in the 1967–68 season the award, originally called Soulier d'Or, which translates from French as Golden Shoe or Boot, was given by L'Équipe magazine to the top goalscorer in all European leagues that season. Between 1968 and 1991, the award was given to the highest goalscorer in any European league. This was regardless of the toughness of the league in which the top scorer played and the number of games in which the player had taken part. During this period Eusébio, Gerd Müller, Dudu Georgescu and Fernando Gomes each won the Golden Boot twice.

Following a protest from the Cyprus FA, which claimed that a Cypriot player with 40 goals should have received the award (though the official top scorers for the season are both listed with 19 goals), L'Équipe issued no awards between 1991 and 1996; however, sponsors Adidas continued to present an award. The top scorer for the 1990–91 season, Darko Pančev, did not receive his award until 2006.

Since the 1996–97 season, European Sports Media have awarded the Golden Shoe based on a points system that allows players in tougher leagues to win even if they score fewer goals than a player in a weaker league. The weightings are determined by the league's ranking on the UEFA coefficients, which in turn depend on the results of each league's clubs in European competition over the previous five seasons. Goals scored in the top five leagues according to the UEFA coefficients list are multiplied by a factor of two, and goals scored in the leagues ranked six to 21 are multiplied by 1.5. Thus, goals scored in Serie A, the top Italian football league, will count for more than those scored in the weaker Welsh Premier League, its Welsh equivalent.

Read more about European Golden Shoe:  Winners

Other articles related to "european golden shoe":

European Golden Shoe - Winners - By Country of Player Nationality
... European Golden Shoe winners by nationality Nationality Total Player(s) Portugal 3 ... Netherlands 4 ... Romania 3 ... Bulgaria 3 ... Brazil 2 ... Argentina 2 ... Austria 2 ... Wales 2 ... Italy 2 ... Yugoslavia 2 ... France ...
Olympique De Marseille - Players - Notable Players - European Golden Shoe
... The following players have won the European Golden Shoe whilst playing for Olympique de Marseille Josip Skoblar (44 goals) – 1971 ...

Famous quotes containing the words shoe, european and/or golden:

    There was an old woman and she lived in a shoe,
    She had so many children, she didn’t know what to do.
    She crumm’d ‘em some porridge without any bread
    And she borrowed a beetle, and she knocked ‘em all on the head.
    Then out went the old woman to bespeak ‘em a coffin
    And when she came back she found’ em all a-loffing.
    Mother Goose (fl. 17th–18th century. There was an old woman who lived in a shoe (l. 1–6)

    To the cry of “follow Mormons and prairie dogs and find good land,” Civil War veterans flocked into Nebraska, joining a vast stampede of unemployed workers, tenant farmers, and European immigrants.
    —For the State of Nebraska, U.S. public relief program (1935-1943)

    She stood breast high amid the corn,
    Clasp’d by the golden light of morn,
    Thomas Hood (1799–1845)