Derry or Londonderry is the second-largest city in Northern Ireland and the fourth-largest city on the island of Ireland. The name Derry is an anglicisation of the Irish name Daire or Doire meaning "oak grove". In 1613, the city was granted a Royal Charter by King James I and the "London" prefix was added, changing the name of the city to Londonderry. While the city is more usually known as Derry, Londonderry is also used and remains the legal name.

The old walled city lies on the west bank of the River Foyle, which is spanned by two road bridges and one footbridge. The city now covers both banks (Cityside on the west and Waterside on the east). The city district also extends to rural areas to the southeast. The population of the city proper (the area defined by its 17th-century charter) was 83,652 in the 2012 Census, while the Derry Urban Area had a population of 105,066. The district is administered by Derry City Council and contains both Londonderry Port and City of Derry Airport.

The Greater Derry area, that area within about 20 miles (32 km) of the city, has a population of 237,000. This comprises the districts of Derry City and parts of Limavady district, Strabane district, and East Donegal (including Raphoe and St Johnston), along with Inishowen.

Derry is close to the border with County Donegal, with which it has had a close link for many centuries. The person traditionally seen as the 'founder' of the original Derry is Saint Colmcille, a holy man from Tír Chonaill, the old name for almost all of modern County Donegal (of which the west bank of the Foyle was a part before c. 1600). Derry and the nearby town of Letterkenny form the major economic core of north west Ireland.

In 2013, Derry will become the inaugural city to be designated UK City of Culture, having been awarded the title in July 2010.

Read more about Derry:  Name, City Walls, Governance, Geography, Demography, Landmarks, Transport, Education, Sports, Culture, Notable People

Other articles related to "derry":

Ardmore GAC
... club based in Ardmore on the outskirts of Derry City ... It plays in the Derry league and championships and currently caters for Gaelic football, camogie and ladies Gaelic football ... Underage teams up to U-12s play in the North Derry league and championships, and from U-14 and above, teams compete in All-Derry competitions ...
Barry Mc Goldrick - Personal Life
... His brother Sean Leo has also played football and hurling for Derry ... Ciaran and cousin Niall Holly are also part of the Derry Panel and Youngest Brother Colm part of the U-21 Panel ... His sisters play camogie for Derry ...
Derry, County Cork
... Derry (Irish An Doire) is a townland in the parish of Desertserges, County Cork, Ireland. ...
Barry Mc Goldrick
... Barra Mac Gualraic born 29 April 1985) is an Irish Gaelic footballer who plays for Derry, with whom he has won a National League title ... plays club football for Eoghan Rua and has won the Derry Senior Football Championship with the club ... for Eoghan Rua, and has in the past also hurled for Derry, winning the Nicky Rackard Cup ...
Barry Mc Goldrick - Football Career - Inter-county
... McGoldrick was part of the Derry Minor side that won the 2002 Ulster Minor Championship and All-Ireland Minor Championship ... He was a member of the Derry Under-21 team that finished runners-up to Tyrone in the 2006 Ulster Under-21 Football Championship ... McGoldrick was called up to the Derry Senior football panel in November 2005 for the 2006 season ...