Benelux is a union of states in Europe comprising three neighbouring countries, Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg. These countries are located in northwestern Europe between France and Germany. The Union's name is formed from the beginning of each country's name; it was possibly created for the Benelux Customs Union. However, according to The Economist it was coined somewhat earlier—in August 1946, by that newspaper's correspondent in Belgium. It is now used in a more generic way to refer to the cultural, economic, and geographic grouping.

In 1951, these countries joined West Germany, France, and Italy to form the European Coal and Steel Community, the earliest version of the modern European Union.

The main institutions of the Union are the Committee of Ministers, the Parliament, the Council of the Union, the Court of Justice, the Secretariat-General, the Organization for Intellectual Property.

The Benelux Secretary-General is located in Brussels. It is the central administrative pillar of the Benelux Economic Union. It handles the secretariat of the Committee of Ministers, the Council of Economic Union and the various committees and working parties. Moreover, it ensures the registry of the Benelux Court of Justice.

Read more about BeneluxPolitics, Law, Demographics and Geography, Sports, Renewal of The Agreement

Other articles related to "benelux":

Jinder - Nine Cents From Benelux and The Return To Solo Work
... to the studio to complete new album Nine Cents From Benelux which was released through Din Of Ecstasy Records on 29 June 2009 ... Since the release of Nine Cents From Benelux, Jinder has continued to tour extensively, promoting the album with a UK headline tour and various radio ... To date, Nine Cents From Benelux is Jinder's best selling solo album, outselling his entire back catalogue 21 ...
Sabrina Anijs - Miss Benelux 2009
... Anijs, who was born and raised in Netherlands, was crowned Miss Benelux 2009 during an event held on October 4, 2008 in Belgium, which participated by 40 contestants from Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg ... Her pageant court includes Miss Benelux Belgium, Isabel Van Hoof and Theodora Banica as Miss Benelux Luxembourg ...
Benelux - Renewal of The Agreement
... The Treaty between the Benelux countries establishing the Benelux Economic Union was limited to a period of 50 years ... the following years, and even more so after the creation of the European Union, the Benelux cooperation focused on developing other fields of activity within a constantly ... At the end of the 50 years, the governments of the three Benelux countries decided to renew the agreement, taking into account the new aspects of the Benelux-cooperation ...
Modern Europe - Regional Integration - Low Countries Region (Benelux)
... The Benelux is an economic and political union between Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg ... On 5 September 1944, a treaty establishing the Benelux Customs Union was signed ... It entered into force in 1948, and ceased to exist on 1 November 1960, when it was replaced by the Benelux Economic Union after a treaty signed in The Hague on 3 February 1958 ...
Benelux Parliament
... The Benelux Parliament, formally the Benelux Interparliamentary Consultative Council, is one of the institutions of the Benelux Economic Union, more commonly referred to as the "Benelux" ... on November 5, 1955, which means it already existed when the Benelux Union was signed on February 3, 1958 ...