Alain Prost

Alain Prost

Alain Marie Pascal Prost, OBE, Chevalier de la Légion d'honneur (born 24 February 1955 in Lorette, Loire) is a French racing driver. A four-time Formula One Drivers' Champion, Prost has won more titles than any driver except for Juan Manuel Fangio (five championships), and Michael Schumacher (seven championships). From 1987 until 2001 Prost held the record for most Grand Prix victories. Schumacher surpassed Prost's total of 51 victories at the 2001 Belgian Grand Prix. In 1999, Prost received the World Sports Awards of the Century in the motor sport category.

Prost discovered karting at the age of 14 during a family holiday. He progressed through motor sport's junior ranks, winning the French and European Formula Three championships, before joining the McLaren Formula One team in 1980 at the age of 25. He finished in the points on his Formula One début in Argentina and took his first race victory at his home Grand Prix in France a year later, while he was driving for the factory Renault team.

During the 1980s and early 1990s, Prost formed a fierce rivalry with mainly Ayrton Senna, but also Nelson Piquet and Nigel Mansell. In 1986, at the last race of the season, he managed to pip Mansell and Piquet of Williams to the title after Mansell retired late on in the race, and Piquet was pulled in for a late precautionary pit stop. Senna joined Prost at McLaren in 1988 and the two had a series of controversial clashes, including a collision at the 1989 Japanese Grand Prix that gave Prost his third Drivers' Championship. A year later at the same venue they collided again, but this time Prost, driving for Ferrari, lost out. Before the end of a winless 1991 season Prost was fired by Ferrari for his public criticism of the team. After a sabbatical in 1992, Prost joined the Williams team, prompting reigning drivers' champion Mansell to leave for CART. With a competitive car, Prost won the 1993 championship and retired from driving at the end of the year.

In 1997, Prost took over the French Ligier team, running it as Prost Grand Prix until it went bankrupt in 2002. He currently competes in the Andros Trophy, which is an ice racing championship.

Prost employed a smooth, relaxed style behind the wheel, deliberately modeling himself on personal heroes like Jackie Stewart and Jim Clark. He was nicknamed "The Professor" for his intellectual approach to competition. Skilled at setting up his car for race conditions, Prost would often conserve his brakes and tyres early on in a race, leaving them fresher for a challenge at the end.

Read more about Alain Prost:  Personal and Early Life, Later Life, Complete Formula One Results, Further Reading

Other articles related to "alain prost, prost":

List Of Formula One World Drivers' Championship Runners-up - By Season
... Williams Ford 1982 ... Didier Pironi Ferrari Ferrari 1983 ... Alain Prost Renault Renault 1984 ... Alain Prost McLaren TAG 9. 71.5 0.5 1985 Michele Alboreto Ferrari Ferrari 1 ...
Autódromo Internacional Nelson Piquet - History - Formula One
... France's Alain Prost won the first of his record six Brazilian Grands Prix (five won at Jacarepaguá) driving a Renault ... Both the 1984 and 1985 races were won by Alain Prost, this time driving the McLaren-TAG Porsche ... Prost also won the 1987 Brazilian Grand Prix in a McLaren-TAG Porsche ...
Steve Nichols - Profile
... car, the McLaren MP4/3 powered by the turbocharged TAG-Porsche V6 engine, carried Alain Prost to three victories in 1987, the last of which being the 1987 ... The MP4/4, driven by Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost, almost completely dominated the 1988 season with 15 race victories from 16 races, as well as 15 pole positions ... Senna and Prost also finished the Drivers' Championship in first and second place, giving the talented Brazilian his first World Championship ...
List Of Formula One World Drivers' Championship Runners-up
... Alain Prost and Stirling Moss have each finished as runner up four times, Prost in 1983 for Renault, 1984 and 1988 for McLaren and 1990 for Ferrari, and ... in 1979, Didier Pironi in 1982, Michele Alboreto in 1985, Alain Prost in 1990, Michael Schumacher in 1998 and 2006, Eddie Irvine in 1999, Rubens Barrichello in 2002 and 2004, Felipe Massa in 2008 ... margin between 1st and 2nd was in 1984, when just 0.5 points separated McLaren team mates Alain Prost and champion Niki Lauda ...
Alain Prost - Further Reading
... Alan Henry, Alain Prost (Champion Series) ISBN 0-946132-30-5 Pierre Ménard and Jacques Vassal, Alain Prost The Science of Racing (Formula 1 Legends S.) ISBN 2-84707-062-1 ...