1899 in The United States - Incumbents


  • President: William McKinley (Republican)
  • Vice President: Garret Hobart (Republican) (until November 21), vacant (starting November 21)
  • Chief Justice: Melville Fuller
  • Speaker of the House of Representatives: Thomas Brackett Reed (R-Maine) (until March 4), David B. Henderson (R-Iowa) (starting December 4)
  • Congress: 55th (until March 4), 56th (starting March 4)

Read more about this topic:  1899 In The United States

Other articles related to "incumbent, incumbents":

California Electricity Crisis - Causes - Effects of Partial Deregulation
... partial divestiture in March 1998 of electricity generation stations by the incumbent utilities, who were still responsible for electricity distribution and were competing ... deregulated, but retail prices were regulated for the incumbents as part of a deal with the regulator, allowing the incumbent utilities to recover the cost of assets that would be stranded as a result of ... end user demand was unaffected, but the incumbent utility companies still had to purchase power, albeit at a loss ...
National Republican Congressional Committee - Incumbent Retention
... they hold in the House of Representatives, the NRCC created its “Patriot Program” to aid incumbents in their re-election efforts ... This program serves as a gauge by which potentially targeted incumbents commit themselves to meet rigorous goals in attempts to strengthen their ... There are currently 26 enrolled incumbents in the NRCC’s “Patriot Program” ...
Japanese House Of Councillors Election, 2004 - Results - Complete List of Prefectural Races
... Notes All incumbents not running for re-election in their prefectural electoral district are counted as retirements even if they ran in the nationwide proportional representation ... Northern Japan Prefecture Seats up Incumbents Party Result Candidates (Party) Vote share Hokkaidō 2 Naoki Minezaki DPJ Incumbents re-elected LDP gains top tōsen Yoshio. 6.7% Akio Wakayama (JCP) 5.2% Miyagi 2 Mitsuru Sakurai DPJ Incumbents re-elected LDP gains top tōsen Ichirō Ichikawa (LDP) 38.4% Mitsuru Sakurai (DPJ) 37.8% Ikuko Endō (JCP) 9.8% Toshiaki Sugawara (I) 8.6 ...
Incumbent - Politics
... In general, incumbents have structural advantages over challengers during elections ... The timing of elections may be determined by the incumbent instead of a set schedule ... For most political offices, the incumbent often has more name recognition due to their previous work in the office ...