What is Catalonia?

  • (noun): A region of northeastern Spain.


Catalonia ( /kætəˈloʊniə/, /kætəˈloʊnjə/; Catalan: Catalunya or ; Spanish: Cataluña ; Occitan: Catalonha ) is an autonomous community of Spain, with the official status of a nationality. Catalonia comprises four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, and Tarragona. Its capital and largest city is Barcelona, the second largest city in Spain after Madrid, and the center of one of the largest metropolitan areas in Europe. Catalonia covers an area of 32,114 km² and has an official population of 7,535,251.

Read more about Catalonia.

Some articles on Catalonia:

Languages Of Catalonia - Catalan
... According to the official government of Catalonia, Catalan is the second most spoken language of the region, after Spanish (over 35% of Catalans use exclusively Catalan as their first language ... It is the most spoken language in many comarques of Catalonia, with the exception of the Barcelona metropolitan area (Barcelonès plus surrounding comarques) and Camp de ... equals rights than Spanish all through Catalonia ...
Languages Of Catalonia
... There are three languages with official status in Catalonia (an autonomous community of Spain) Catalan, Spanish (official throughout Spain) and, Aranese (a dialect of ... Many other languages are spoken in Catalonia as a result of recent immigration from all over the world ... the approval of the Statute of Autonomy of 1979 which declares it to be the language "proper to Catalonia" ...
Catalonia - Image Gallery
... Catalonia gallery Satellite view of Catalonia Llívia exclave Val de Ruda, Val d'Aran Tossa de Mar Aigua Blava Cruïlles, Monells i Sant Sadurní de l'Heura ...
List Of White Nationalist Organizations - Catalonia
... See also Catalan nationalism Boixos Nois Hooligans ... Estat Català Nationalist organization ...