The Visayas /vɨˈsaɪəz/ və-SY-əz or Visayan Islands (Visayan languages: Kabisay-an, Tagalog: Kabisayaan), is one of the three principal geographical divisions of the Philippines, along with Mindanao and Luzon. It consists of several islands, primarily surrounding the Visayan Sea, although the Visayas are considered the northeast extremity of the entire Sulu Sea. Residents are known as the Visayans.

The major islands of the Visayas are Panay, Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Leyte, and Samar. The region may also include the islands of Romblon and Masbate, whose population identify as Visayan.

There are three administrative regions in the Visayas: Western Visayas, Central Visayas and Eastern Visayas.

Read more about Visayas:  Etymology, History, Administrative Divisions, Language

Other articles related to "visayas":

Lipa City National Science High School - Alumni Site
... School System Main Ilocos Cagayan Valley CAR Central Luzon Bicol Western Visayas Central Visayas Eastern Visayas Central Mindanao Southern Mindanao SOCCSKSARGEN Regional Science High School ...
Philippine Parliamentary Sectoral Election, 1978 - Results - Sectoral Assemblymen
... Peyuan Visayas Luisito R ... Lerum Visayas Januario T ... Cervantes Visayas Rolando N ...
Visayas - Language
... languages include Hiligaynon or Ilonggo in much of Western Visayas, Cebuano in Central Visayas, and Waray in Eastern Visayas ...
List Of Inactive Volcanoes In The Philippines - Inactive Volcanoes in The Philippines - Visayas
11°02′N 124°42′E / 11.033°N 124.700°E / 11.033 124.700 (Abunug) Southern Leyte Visayas 600 Abuyug 10°47.5′N 124°58′E / 10 ...