University of London - Organisation and Administration

Organisation and Administration

The nine largest institutions of the federal university, usually termed the colleges, are Birkbeck, Goldsmiths, King's College London, the London Business School, Queen Mary, Royal Holloway, the School of Oriental and African Studies, London School of Economics and Political Science and University College London (UCL). Formerly a constituent college, Imperial College London left the University of London in 2007.

For most practical purposes, ranging from admission of students to negotiating funding from the government, the 18 constituent colleges are treated as individual universities. Legally speaking they are known as Recognised Bodies, with the authority to examine students and have the university award them degrees. Some colleges have recently obtained the power to award their own degrees and the University has amended its statutes to allow them to do so and yet remain in the University federation. For instance, beginning in the 2007/08 academic year, the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), King's College London, the Institute of Education, and University College London began awarding their own degree certificates while retaining their constituent-college status within the University of London.

Most decisions affecting the constituent colleges and institutions of the University of London are made at the level of the colleges or institutions themselves. The University of London does retain its own decision-making structure, however, with the Collegiate Council and Board of Trustees, responsible for matters of academic policy. The Collegiate Council is made up of the Heads of Colleges of the University.

The 12 institutes, or Listed Bodies, within the University of London offer courses leading to degrees that are both examined and awarded by the University of London. Additionally, twelve universities in England, several in Canada and many in other Commonwealth countries (notably in East Africa) began life as associate colleges of the university offering such degrees. By the 1970s, almost all of these colleges had achieved independence from the University of London. An increasing number of overseas academic institutes offer courses to support students registered for the University of London International Programmes's diplomas and degrees and a new Institutions Policy Framework is currently being developed to accommodate these institutions. Up to now, no accreditation from London for these schools has existed other than the final examinations administered by the University of London which all pupils take.

Read more about this topic:  University Of London

Other articles related to "organisation, organisation and administration":

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation
... The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation or SCO (simplified Chinese 上海合作组织 traditional Chinese 上海合作組織 pinyin Shànghǎi Hézuò Zǔzhī Russian ... Shanghai Five, founded in 1996 after the inclusion of Uzbekistan in 2001, the members renamed the organisation ...
China-EU School Of Law - Organisation and Administration
... The School’s highest decision making body is the Joint Managerial Committee, who are assisted by the Advisory Board ... Chinese representatives on CESL's Advisory Board are former President of the Supreme People’s Court, Xiao Yang former Procurator General of the Supreme People’s Procuratorate, Jia Chunwang and professor and civil law expert from the Institute of Law of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Wang Jiafu ...
Eugène Lanti - Lanti's Political Career
... Tutmonda (SAT), a broad-based Esperanto-speaking organisation (containing Communists, Social Democrats and anarchists) which does not organise along national lines ... of SAT, a position he had occupied since the foundation of the organisation ... He continued, however, to play a role in the organisation chiefly as a writer ...
Trinity College, Dublin - Organisation and Administration - Academic Associations
... Two teaching hospitals are associated with the college Adelaide and Meath Hospital, Dublin, incorporating the National Children's Hospital St ... James's Hospital A number of teaching institutions are involved in jointly taught courses Dublin Institute of Technology Coláiste Mhuire, Marino Church of Ireland College of Education, Rathmines Church of Ireland Theological College, Braemor Park Froebel College of Education, Blackrock The School of Business in association with the Irish Management Institute forms the Trinity-IMI Graduate School of Management incorporating the faculties of both organisations ...
Edith Cowan University - Organisation - Governing Council
... Council is the governing body of the organisation which controls and manages the operation, affairs, concerns and property of the university, in accordance with its Corporate Governance Statement ...

Famous quotes containing the word organisation:

    It is because the body is a machine that education is possible. Education is the formation of habits, a superinducing of an artificial organisation upon the natural organisation of the body.
    Thomas Henry Huxley (1825–1895)