Titan (Dune)

Titan (Dune)

The Titans are a group of fictional characters in the Legends of Dune series of novels, written by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson and set in the Dune universe created by Frank Herbert. The twenty Titans were instigators who took over the Old Empire, became cyborgs and ruled for a century before succumbing to the machines led by the artificial intelligence Omnius.

After a millennium, both the machines and the remaining Titans perished during the Butlerian Jihad. The remaining Titans who feature in the trilogy are Agamemnon, Ajax, Barbarossa, Dante, Hecate, Juno and Xerxes. Of the remaining thirteen Titans, only Tlaloc, Alexander and Tamerlane are explicitly named.

Read more about Titan (Dune):  Overview

Other articles related to "titans":

Titan (Dune) - Individual Titans - Xerxes
... Empire, and so was the main financier of the Titans initial uprising ... himself sole heir to the family fortune (and his only reason for being part of the Titans conspiracy in the first place) ... Xerxes was relatively incompetent compared to the other Titans and was often barely tolerated, particularly by Agamemnon ...

Famous quotes containing the word titan:

    I stand in awe of my body, this matter to which I am bound has become so strange to me. I fear not spirits, ghosts, of which I am one,—that my body might,—but I fear bodies, I tremble to meet them. What is this Titan that has possession of me? Talk of mysteries! Think of our life in nature,—daily to be shown matter, to come in contact with it,—rocks, trees, wind on our cheeks! the solid earth! the actual world! the common sense! Contact! Contact! Who are we? where are we?
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)