Tirumakudalu Narasipura

Tirumakudalu Narasipura (Kannada: ತಿರುಮಕೂಡಲು ನರಸೀಪುರ Tirumakūḍalu Narasīpura), commonly known as T. Narasipura, is a panchayat town in Mysore district in the Indian state of Karnataka. The first name refers to the land at the confluence, (trimakuta in Sanskrit) at the confluence of the Kaveri, Kabini and Spatika Sarovara (a mythical lake or spring, also named Gupta Gamini).This is the place in South India where Kumbhamela is held every three years. It finds a mention in the Skanda Purana as one of the Trimakuta Kshetras (holy places with the confluence of three rivers. The word 'Narasipur' is the name of the town, which is derived from the famous Gunja Narasimhaswamy temple that is located on the right bank of the Kabini river. Considered as sacred as Prayag (confluence of the Ganges, the Yamuna and the Saraswati at Prayag – Varanasi - Kashi in North India), it is also known as Dakshina Kashi The town finds mention in tourism guides, both as a tourist place and a pilgrimage centre.

Read more about Tirumakudalu NarasipuraMythology, Archeological Significance, Demographics, Access, Temples, Religious Festivals, Industries, Nearby Places, Noted People, Gallery, Colleges in Town

Other articles related to "tirumakudalu narasipura":

Tirumakudalu Narasipura - Colleges in Town
... Vidyodaya college Padmaraja memorial College. ...
Mysore District - Divisions
239,199) Mysore (1,038,490) Heggadadevanakote (245,930) Nanjangud (360,223) Tirumakudalu Narasipura (279,005) Total 2,641,027 Mysore district elects 11 members to the Legislative Assembly of the State ... city) Varuna (belonging to Nanjangud and Tirumakudalu Narasipura) Hunsur Piriyapatna Krishnarajanagara Heggadadevanakote Nanjangud Tirumakudalu Narasipura Mysore ... constituency consists of all the Assembly constituencies mentioned above except for Nanjangud, Tirumakudalu Narasipura and Bannur which belong to the ...