Stanley Cup Finals

The Stanley Cup Finals or Stanley Cup Final is the championship series to determine the winner of the Stanley Cup, emblematic of the professional club championship of ice hockey. Although the Cup itself has existed since 1893, an annual championship series between professional teams was not established until 1913. The Stanley Cup Finals were then regarded as a "World Series" between the champion of the National Hockey Association (NHA) and the champion of the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA). After a series of league mergers and folds, the Cup Finals is today contested as the championship series of the National Hockey League (NHL), a best-of-seven series played between the champions of the Eastern and Western Conferences.

Read more about Stanley Cup FinalsHistory, Series Format, Champions, See Also

Other articles related to "stanley cup, cup, stanley cup finals":

List Of New York Rangers Seasons
... In 85 completed seasons, the team has won four Stanley Cup championships and has qualified for the playoffs fifty-four times ... The Rangers were founded in 1926, and won their first Stanley Cup title in 1928, making them the first U.S.-based NHL franchise to win the Cup ... the next 12 seasons, New York reached the Stanley Cup Finals five times and won twice, in 1933 and 1940 ...
Sport In Ottawa - Events Hosted
1903 Stanley Cup Challenge 1904 Stanley Cup Challenge 1905 Stanley Cup 1908 Stanley Cup Challenge 1909 Stanley Cup 1910 Stanley Cup Challenge 1911 Stanley Cup ...
List Of New York Rangers Seasons - Year By Year
... Stanley Cup champions Conference champions* Division champions^ Led league in points# NHL season Rangers season Conference Division Regular-season Postseason Finish GP W L T OT Pts GF GA ... Boston Bruins, 5–2 (TG) Won Stanley Cup Finals vs Montreal Maroons, 3–2 1928–29 1928–29 — American 2nd 10 ... — 5 ... Won Quarterfinals vs ... Toronto Maple Leafs, 2–0 Lost Stanley Cup Finals to Boston Bruins, 0–2 1929–30 1929–30 — American 3rd 10 ... — 7 ... Won Quarterfinals vs ...
Sports Broadcasting Contracts In The United States - Hockey - National Hockey League
... NBC Sports Network One to three regular-season games/week, All-Star Game, playoffs, Stanley Cup Finals (games 2, 3), through 2021 ... Day game, Sunday afternoon late-season games, weekend afternoon playoff games, and Stanley Cup Finals (games 1, 4–7), through 2021 ... of Hockey Night in Canada, playoffs and Stanley Cup Finals ...
Stanley Cup Finals - See Also
... List of Stanley Cup champions List of Stanley Cup challenge games List of NHL franchise post-season droughts ...

Famous quotes containing the words stanley and/or cup:

    Turning the other cheek is a kind of moral jiu-jitsu.
    —Gerald Stanley Lee (1862–1944)

    The cup of Morgan Fay is shattered.
    Life is a bitter sage,
    And we are weary infants
    In a palsied age.
    Allen Tate (1899–1979)