Skip Engblom

Skip Engblom (born January 4, 1948) was one of the co-founders of the Jeff Ho Surfboards and Zephyr Productions Surf Shop in Santa Monica, California. He also was the owner of the Zephyr skate team, he currently owns and runs Santa Monica Airlines, a skateboard company.

Engblom helped to create the Zephyr Surf Team and the Zephyr Competition Team, aka Zephyr Skate Team aka Z-Boys. Engblom was never a remarkable skateboarder himself but was a big influence to the Zephyr team.

Engblom sponsored the Z-Boys (the Zephyr skate team) including Jay Adams, Tony Alva and Stacy Peralta. Engblom was the reason that the boys started competing. Engblom and the The Z-Boys frequented a locals only surf spot named "The Cove," which was located at Pacific Ocean Park, in Santa Monica, California, which later burned to the ground. Skip Engblom also played a cameo part in Lords of Dogtown as a race starter.

Read more about Skip EngblomExternal Links

Other articles related to "skip engblom, engblom":

Skip Engblom - External Links
... Skip Engblom at the Internet Movie Database Where The Z-Boys Began Skip Engblom, Surf Skate Entrepreneur by KCET Departures Video interview with Skip Engblom Santa Monica Airlines Skateboards website (US) Santa ...
Z-Boys - History
... Jeff Ho, Skip Engblom and Craig Stecyk opened the Santa Monica shop as Jeff Ho Surfboards and Zephyr Productions in 1971 ... In 1975, Cahill, Pratt, Adams, Sarlo, Peralta and Alva asked Jeff Ho and Skip Engblom to start a skate team separate from the surf team ... Engblom saw this as something that would help them with their surf training and self-discipline, so he quickly set up a practice schedule ...

Famous quotes containing the word skip:

    The lesson of value which money teaches, which the Author of the Universe has taken so much pains to teach us, we are inclined to skip altogether. As for the means of living, it is wonderful how indifferent men of all classes are about it, even reformers, so called,—whether they inherit, or earn, or steal it.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)