San Beda College

San Beda College

San Beda College (SBC or San Beda) or Dalubhasaan ng San Beda in Filipino is a Private Benedictine college run by the Benedictine monks in the Philippines. It is located on Mendiola Street in San Miguel, Manila. It was founded in 1901 primarily to "defend the Catholic battlements in the field of education." San Beda, which was known then as El Colegio de San Beda, started as an all-boys grade school. It has since then expanded to a full college with both undergraduate and post-graduate degree offerings. It has two other campuses: the San Beda College-Rizal (the largest San Beda campus in size) and the San Beda College Alabang (formerly known as St. Benedict College and Benedictine Abbey School) located in Alabang Hills Village in Muntinlupa City. The San Beda Graduate School of Liturgy in Manila traces its academic roots and origins to the PIL.

Located in a once quiet, middle-class residential area, San Beda College is now part of Manila's bustling University Belt, an irregular crescent curving for about six kilometers through six districts of Manila, containing more than thirty colleges and universities.

San Beda College offers programs in the fields of accountancy, business, marketing, and law. At present, the Benedictine College has seven departments: the Basic Education Department; the College of Arts and Sciences, which offers liberal arts, science and business programs; the College of Law, founded in 1948; the Graduate Schools of Business, Liturgy and Law; the College of Medicine, and the College of Nursing. In 2003, the once all-male San Beda College finally opened its doors to female students and relocated its Basic Education Department (pre-school to high school) to a new and bigger campus in Taytay, Rizal.

The school is a founding member of the Philippine Accrediting Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (PAASCU) and the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), where it competes in sports such as basketball, football, swimming, taekwondo, and lawn tennis. The school has adopted for itself the moniker, "San Beda Red Lions." Its brother school, San Beda College Alabang is a member of sports leagues such as the WNCAA, NCAA South and the National Cheerleading Competition (NCC).

San Beda College counts among its notable high school alumni the late Senator and hero Benigno Aquino, Jr., the late statesman and former senator Raul Roco, former speaker Ramon V. Mitra, human rights advocate and former senator Rene V. Saguisag, San Miguel Corporation chairman Ambassador Eduardo Cojuangco, Jr., corporate magnate and PLDT Chairman Dr. Manuel V. Pangilinan, Supreme Court Associate Justices Antonio Eduardo B. Nachura and Jose Catral Mendoza, and Department of Justice Secretary, Atty. Leila De Lima.

Read more about San Beda CollegeNotable People

Other articles related to "san beda college, college, san, san beda":

San Beda College Of Law
... San Beda College of Law is the law degree-granting unit of San Beda College, a private, Roman Catholic college run by the Benedictine monks in the Philippines ... educational, and administrative offices are located at Mendiola Street in San Miguel, Manila ...
List Of San Beda College Alumni - San Beda College-Mendiola - Honorary Alumni
... Ramos- former president of the Philippines Honorary Alumnus, San Beda College of Law Robert de Ocampo (Doctor of Humanities, honoris causa)- former secretary, Department of Finance president. 21st Supreme Court Chief Justice of the Philippines honorary alumnus, San Beda College of Law Diosdado P ... Macapagal- former president of the Philippines (1961–1965) lecturer and professor, San Beda College of Law Arturo Tolentino- former Philippine senator professor, San Beda College of Law Isagani Cruz- former ...
List Of NCAA Philippines Basketball Champions - List of Champions Per Year - Second Expansion (1984–95)
... After the Ateneo de Manila, La Salle, and San Beda left, the NCAA opened its doors to new members ... In 1984, Perpetual Help College of Rizal was accepted as a new member, while Trinity College of Quezon City became a full member in 1985 ... San Beda rejoined the league in 1986, while Trinity left in the same year ...
List Of NCAA Philippines Basketball Champions - Championship Streaks
... Division School Seasons 5 Seniors San Sebastian College–Recoletos 1993–94 to 1997–98 5 Juniors Mapúa Institute of Technology 1968–69 to 1972–73 4 Juniors San Beda ...

Famous quotes containing the words college and/or san:

    Training is everything. The peach was once a bitter almond; cauliflower is nothing but cabbage with a college education.
    Mark Twain [Samuel Langhorne Clemens] (1835–1910)

    The gold-digger in the ravines of the mountains is as much a gambler as his fellow in the saloons of San Francisco. What difference does it make whether you shake dirt or shake dice? If you win, society is the loser.
    Henry David Thoreau (1817–1862)