Redistricting is the process of drawing United States electoral district boundaries, often in response to population changes determined by the results of the decennial census. In 34 states, the state legislature has primary responsibility for creating a redistricting plan, in many cases subject to approval by the state governor. To reduce the role that legislative politics might play, six states (Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, New Jersey and Washington), carry out congressional redistricting by an independent or bipartisan commission. Three states, Florida, Iowa and Maine, give independent bodies authority to propose redistricting plans, but preserve the role of legislatures to approve them. Seven states have only a single representative for the entire state because of their low populations; these are Alaska, Delaware, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Vermont and Wyoming.

State constitutions and laws also mandate which body has responsibility over drawing the state legislature boundaries. In addition, those municipal governments that are elected on a district basis (as opposed to at-large) also redistrict.

Each state has its own standards for creating Congressional and legislative districts. In addition to equalizing the population of districts and complying with Federal requirements, criteria may include attempting to create compact, contiguous districts, trying to keep political units and communities within a single district, and avoiding the drawing of boundaries for purposes of partisan advantage or incumbent protection. In the states where the legislature (or another body where a partisan majority is possible) is in charge of redistricting, the possibility of gerrymandering (the deliberate manipulation of political boundaries for electoral advantage, usually of incumbents or a specific political party) often makes the process very politically contentious, especially when the majorities of the two houses of the legislature, or the legislature and the governor, are from different parties. The state and federal court systems are often involved in resolving disputes over Congressional and legislative redistricting when gridlock prevents redistricting in a timely manner. In addition, the losers to an adopted redistricting plan often challenge it in state and federal courts. Justice Department approval (which is known as preclearance) is required under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 in certain states that have had a history of racial barriers to voting.

Partisan domination of state legislatures and improved technology to design contiguous districts that pack opponents into as few districts as possible have led to district maps which are skewed towards one party. Consequently many states including Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Michigan, Pennsylvania and Texas have succeeded in reducing or effectively eliminating competition for most House seats in those states. Other states including California, New Jersey and New York have opted to protect incumbents of both parties, again reducing the number of competitive districts. The Supreme Court's ruling on the Pennsylvania gerrymander effectively cemented the right of elected officials to select their constituents by eliminating most of the grounds for disenfranchised constituents to challenge gerrymandered lines.

Read more about Redistricting:  Public Schools, Gerrymandering

Other articles related to "redistricting":

Saleh Ashour - Critical of Redistricting
... Ashour was critical of the redistricting on the grounds that the districts were uneven in size "No one in the chamber is opposed to the five constituencies, but there are ... Is this fair?" Ashour also argued that the redistricting would promote tribalism ...
Sharen Neuhardt - Redistricting
... The redistricting process was formally begun by a legislative panel on June 16, 2011 ... A proposal released in September 2011 would create 12 districts which favor Republicans and four which favor Democrats ...
California's 24th State Senate District - 2011 Redistricting
... After redistricting in 2011 by the California Citizens Redistricting Commission, the new district now includes 9.5% of Los Angeles County ...
California's 40th State Senate District - 2011 Redistricting
... After redistricting in 2011 by the California Citizens Redistricting Commission, the new district now includes all of Imperial County and 24.6% of San Diego County ...