Peterborough West

Peterborough West was a federal electoral district represented in the Canadian House of Commons from 1867 to 1953. It was located in the province of Ontario. It was created by the British North America Act of 1867 which divided the County of Peterborough was into two ridings. The West Riding consisted of the Townships of South Monaghan (in the County of Northumberland), North Monaghan, Smith, and Ennismore, and the Town of Peterborough.

In 1903, the townships of Cavendish, Galway, Harvey, and the village of Ashburnham were added to the riding. In 1914, the village of Ashburnham was excluded.

In 1924, Peterborough West was defined to consist of the part of the county of Peterborough included in the townships of Galway, Cavendish, Harvey, Ennismore, Smith, Douro, Otanabee and North Monaghan, and that part of the county of Northumberland included in the township of South Monaghan, together with the city of Peterborough. In 1947, South Monaghan was excluded from the riding.

The electoral district was abolished in 1952 when it was merged into Peterborough riding.

Read more about Peterborough WestElectoral History

Other articles related to "peterborough west, west, peterborough":

Peterborough West - Electoral History
... Canadian federal election, 1867 West Riding of Peterborough Party Candidate Votes Conservative PERRY, Charles 681 Unknown GORDON, 652 Canadian federal election, 1872 West Riding of Peterborough Party Candidate Votes. 702 Canadian federal election, 1874 West Riding of Peterborough Party Candidate Votes Liberal BERTRAM, John 892 Unknown SCOTT, W.H. 801 Canadian federal election, 1878 West Riding of Peterborough Party Candidate Votes Liberal-Conservative HILLIARD, George 1,071 Liberal BERTRAM, John 874 Canadian federal election, 1882 West ...

Famous quotes containing the word west:

    At Hayes’ General Store, west of the cemetery, hangs an old army rifle, used by a discouraged Civil War veteran to end his earthly troubles. The grocer took the rifle as payment ‘on account.’
    —Administration for the State of Con, U.S. public relief program (1935-1943)