Parnells GAA - The Golden Jubilee (1934)

The Golden Jubilee (1934)

During 1934 GAA members celebrated the Golden Jubilee of the foundation of the association. All clubs were urged to organise their own celebrations during the course of the year.

Unfortunately for Parnell’s their senior footballers fared badly in league matches in the first few months of the year. Matters improved somewhat when they defeated Dolphins in the first round of the championship. Success was short lived unfortunately. On 20 May 1934 at Croke Park they were beaten 2-4 to 1-6 in the quarter final.

The following year, 1935, the senior footballers lost the first round of the Championship when they were defeated 1-6 to 0-1 by Garda, the eventual winners. Corner Forward Jim Brady of Parnell's was a member of the Dublin Senior Football team beaten by Louth in the 1935 Leinster Championship. The following year did not bring any relief to the club: Nevertheless the Officials, Selectors and players struggled on manfully in the hope of better times ahead.

During 1937 the club did not enter the junior league or the Championship but concentrated on the Minor and Senior Level. In the first round of the Senior Championship Parnell’s were drawn against Sean Mc Dermott’s. Their first encounter ended in a draw but Sean Mc Dermott’s went on to win the replay with ease.

In 1938 Parnell’s won the Second Division of the senior Football League. The team was strengthened by the inclusion of ex-St Vincent’s minors including Brendan Quinn, Johnny Gibbons, Tom McCann, Pádraig Toolan, Ned Boland, Albert Farrell, Mick Delaney, George Ingham, Robert Hurley, Andy Hanratty and Frank Moore. They met Dolphins in the final of Division II and defeated them by 2-7 to 0-1.

The victories of 1938 paved the way for even greater feats in the memorable year of 1939.

Read more about this topic:  Parnells GAA

Famous quotes containing the word golden:

    O polished perturbation! golden care!
    That keep’st the ports of slumber open wide
    To many a watchful night.
    William Shakespeare (1564–1616)